You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Did Our Bid Bot Experiment Go?

in #bidbots6 years ago

Ha! I love the song. I love experiments. All in all, I think what you've done here is pretty epic (and yes, I found you on the trending page.) However, it's also a little disheartening to a newbie (minnow?) like me. I don't know much of anything about reputation and gaining followers and I know even less about bots and whales and weighted votes to someday reach the trending page. From what I'm reading here, it looks like good content may never be enough. Am I reading this accurately?

Sort:  

It's a all a bit overwhelming at first, probably for anyone who doesn't know much about steemit/crypto etc. However, it doesn't take long to start figuring it all out I assure you.

There are many effective ways to navigate steemit & get your content the attention it may deserve. However, like anything that your beginning, it does take a bit of time to gain momentum unless you know ppl on the paltform already.

Using bid bots is just one way that someone with zero followers & low rep could immediately gain some...especially if the content is actually good. It all starts with good content. I know shit post get through the cracks sometimes, but it doesn't last! They eventually get downvoted!

I find the best way is to engage and interact with the specific sub-communities that revolve around the specific type of content you are creating/interested in. So for example if you do food, dive into the food tag and discord channels etc.

That's where you'll make lots of progress and have support available & meet like minded ppl etc.

Strictly speaking from my point of view. If you want to hit the main trending page at this moment in time (phase of Steemit), good content is not enough.

Like the real world, paying for promotion/advertising for content you believe in appears to be the current model. If you look at almost every other industry in the world...well that's what goes on right? On social media, it's actually the same. FB adds cost money for example.

I think a lot of ppl feel disheartened by this not realizing that it's not at all out of the ordinary and also, I'm under the impression that many of these opinions come from uniformed places. Many PPL tend to judge without looking into what's really going on and TBH, before I did my research I was one of those ppl lol.

Hope this helps !

JB

Thanks for such a thorough response. I've heard the discord thing mentioned a couple times now. I'll have to check that out. I logged in to it once (signed on? Plugged in?) but didn't see an obvious place to dive in. I'll go back and explore more.

I'm not too concerned about hitting the trending spot, or even making any kind of money off my posts, I just want to know that they are being seen in the right places and that maybe they are bringing joy to a few folks.

Again, thanks for taking the time to educate a newbie. 😀