You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Bid Bots The Only Way?

in #bidbots6 years ago

personally i don't like or use bid bots. it's like walking into a pub of people you don't know and buying everyone a drink so that they like you. just my 2 cents.

Sort:  

It's more like paying the landlord for the best table and a loudhailer so everyone has to listen to what you say. The rest of the pub don't really benefit.

I still can't believe how Steemit Inc totally screwed up when it comes to post promotion - Now we have Trending list that is full of posts with bought votes and only select few benefit from it while the normal users get the short end.

Every third spot should had been preserved for promoted posts on the trending list (Tweakable but probably better than now) with clear indication of promoted post, the funds used to promote then would have been burned and this would had benefitted everyone in the Steem ecosystem.

Has anyone done any research on how many of the top 20 trending posts has been bought votes each day? Would be interesting to see the data

There is 1 post (@kingscrown) in the top 20 that has not had bought votes added.

So trending is just full of bought ads now if we're being honest. Thanks for info.

Yes, it's been mostly that way for months.

The quick solution is to rename it to 'Promoted'.

Interesting to see down-votes from bot owners personal accounts, and no removal of vote from the bot they manage: Well do you agree with the content or not? ahh I forgot, money.

Declining rewards ends bidbots impact on the pool, still serves the visibility function, and could pay bot owners bigger profits while allowing them to market themselves as responsible.

But dont suggest that to them, they will boot you from their discords,...

How can i see if somebody down-vote you? Even my introduce post always every day lose from the value. I dont understand why is it good?

https://steemworld.org/@gabbynhice

The price of Steem is falling, and so that is probably why your post is losing value.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

That's an interesting one. Burning your bid, as it's only 'promotion', and sounds good for starters.

I wonder what the max people would be willing to set alight to top that page? First thoughts are not much, and also the big numbers that presumably Steemit inc like to show the world would reduce.

Sadly I don't think they'll die, fewer sends means more profit for those that do - who will not care about promotion. The bid-bot dark web fueled by owner/delegator bids was my guess a few months ago.

I'm new to steemit and I was always wondering about this. Do these ppl really earn from their posts that lack much information. Now I know why. Sad days ahead for real UGC

It's a circle jerk post instead. Arguably worse IMO

Apparently, there is a 200 SBD prize for the most popular hunt by size of potential payout........

Don't get me started Neal!

lol

Maybe I should have specified, 1 post that has not bought votes prior to posting.

And half the other posts are telling us that everything is fine, it's not so bad.

My opinion on this is still swaying from side to side, I guess it will be fine as long as people develop alternative algorithms to view the content on the blockchain.

But I still would prefer to have this same system embedded into the blockchain or steemit.com in which funds used to promote would be burned, sharing the profit between everyone.

I'd also prefer the Trending contain something else than just "ads". This current change has very likely impacted efforts towards finding quality content a lot. We would do a lot better, if we aim towards finding quality content and rewarding it rather than encouraging and forcing everyone to buy their way into the spotlight.

At least that's how I feel on this issue today, might be different tomorrow. But we should aim for something better.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment

I'm aware of it, I'd like to see promoted integrated to trending so it actually has some use. Who visits promoted?

They can change the algorithm for trending at any time. I don't think they anticipated the vote selling business on this scale. I think various people are analysing the posts. There's this alternative trending page

They don't even need to change trending. Steemit Inc easily have the stake to police this. They choose not to.

Ya they don't vote on anything anymore either... Trying to stay neutral I believe. I think they are working on solutions tho.

Account Based voting will probably solve this and many other issues soon enough.

Account based voting is only going to be for SMT's. New systems built on top are great, but do we want to build new things on top of shaky foundations? The STEEM token itself has to be a priority.

Oh I see.. Yea I watched a video where Ned speaks about it and i wasn't clear on wether or not that was just for SMT's or also to be implemented with Steem as well.

I'm not sure they want to get involved as they need to try and stay fairly impartial.

I believe that's a mistake. Steem is a stakeholder governance platform, it's premised on the idea that stakeholders, especially the largest ones) have the best incentive to govern the network properly. When they abdicate, people with less financial incentive to make good decisions gain that power. They have the opportunity to profit since it's the largest stakeholders who are primarily being diluted, and they can avoid their own dilution.

They have talked about reducing their stake at some point. For now they have a massive amount of Steem that does nothing useful

Yes, me neither but it's been going on for a while now. Might as well adjust and correct the system. I did see @noisy developing something to battle this as well if I saw correct. It gives me hope for Steem that there's people working on fixing this. I'm sure we all have our own visions on how the system should work and as your link shows, we can all try them out also which is great.

Interesting algorithm on that site, never thought of valuing the posts by the weight of their resteemers.

There is so much potential in all creations, I like how a funny song, brings me so much information about what's going on over here.

Heck, it's like paying one of the pub's lenders, even the landlord isn't seeing much from it.

that's another interesting way to look at it i guess ;)

It's the vote sellers who really win from this game, but I know some pay out some of the profit to those who delegate to them. People are trying different business models on this platform.

open market theory i guess. at least, that's how we describe it.

Didn't Ned say he thought vote sellers were 'an interesting business'?

yeah i believe so, i mean let's be honest we are gonna see a bunch of verticals because nothing is firmly mapped out. ;)

That's a great analogy.

Yes me i am the same. By the way i even dont have money to pay them😂 also same with the vote for vote posts. And the worst when they just copy paste something. I just wrote a post about it. Crazy😂