Binance Lockout

in #binance7 years ago (edited)

So I had an experience on Binance today that I have not come across in my dealings with a myriad of other exchanges so far. Why not make my very first post about it?

My dealings with the Binance support desk seemed legitimate enough to me until the very last message. At which point I thought I should ask the experienced Steemit community if anyone has encountered anything similar?

When logging on I was surprised to be presented with an "Account Locked" message ... sad face alright, it was like I was looking in a mirror ...

binance-001.jpg

Not too concerned I thought I might be able to just reset a password like a few other exchanges allow and get back into my account. To be honest perhaps just a smidge of mild panic follows, after all I've had other accounts locked before with login attempts, but I diligently 2FA EVERYTHING important like a good boy so I wasn't overly concerned that there was any compromise. I was able to reset my password and get a confirmation link. However sad face was still there when I tried to log in with my new password too.

Obviously the first course of action would be to log a support ticket (which I did). I also wrote to their support email for good measure.

binance-002.jpg

All great so far and I was actually pleasantly surprised with the speed in which they replied. Only 15 - 20 minutes of waiting, I wasn't actually expecting anything till the next day. The reply seemed innocent enough in its explanation of a technical glitch that had occurred, making me the happy receiver of some accidental Bitcoin, 0.03622937 of them to be exact. Not anything to immediately run away and retire on of course but still nothing to be sneezed at either.

binance-003.jpg

Not to worry, whatever was done can be reversed surely and I can get back in and make some trades? Technical issues aside the explanation seemed pretty transparent and I was happy to be able to move on past my initial thoughts of compromised accounts.

binance-004.jpg

Ready to move past this and get some good bargains while the markets are busy panic selling, maybe even stock up on some BNB tokens while I am in there.

Bzzzzt I lose .... perhaps I missed something in my reading of the first message, but it would appear I need to make up the shortfall of the coins before I can get back in.

binance-005.jpg

Now this revelation isn't actually too much of a big deal for me. I never store my cryptocurrency on an exchange. I always wear the fees and transfer out to my own storage. All I have is residual amounts (eg. NEO since you can't transfer decimals of the token)

I have never been in this situation before so am seeking the advice of those more experienced than me in the community.

First of all does this happen and does this sound legit? Has anyone had a similar experience on Binance? Has anyone had a similar experience on another exchange?

I've never been in a rush to send money just because an email tells me to, however the few trades I did on Binance were actually quick and easy, the interface is relatively smooth and Binance opens up some ICO opportunities that aren't being released on other exchanges. Not being able to get back on for the moment is perhaps more of an inconvenience than anything else .

Feedback, opinions and pointers are all most welcome!

Sort:  

Same thing is happening to me. They are saying they accidentally sent the an amount of LRC that I sent to my MEW wallet (and it is in MEW) and that they will unlock my account once I send the coins. How can I send them the coins back if I cant log in? I wrote them back a little pissed. Did you end up resolving?

it seems a little phishy to me and I'm a little worried