Birding 5-4-2018

in #birding6 years ago

DSC_4848.jpg
Dark-eyed Junco, appropriately named as the eye on this bird is barely visible in the dark head plumage, though if you look carefully you can see the dark eye.

Today I only birded for an hour or so in the morning. Much of my day was taken up after my Mac crashed yesterday, and I had to take it to a repair shop. I have no idea what happened, but I think it was related to being convinced by the Apple support people to upgrade to the latest operating system on an older Macbook Air. The entire hard drive was corrupted, they had to recover all the files unnamed and in random order, and I lost all my stored passwords. It took a while to get back on Steemit, but here I am again. You can't get rid of me that easily.
First birding stop was near home at Puget Park where I took a short walk up the trail from the Ruston Way end, and almost immediately Wilson's Warblers were in full song. I heard several of these recent arrivals, and a minute later heard my first-of-the-year Warbling Vireo.
After this stop I headed to my son's place to help him pick up a trailer, I have a hitch on my car, to get compost for his food forest. We were unsuccessful because I could not get the trailer we were borrowing to fasten securely, but I did manage a nice photo of the Dark-eyed Junco above. It was singing and appears to be nesting in or near his yard.

DSC_4851.jpg
I like this photo a bit better because if shows a bit of the Lilac tree leaves for color.

Good birding. Steem on!

Sort:  

I love your bird photos!!! That's talent!!! I've tried to capture them and it escapes me. I love the dark-eyed junco. So patient and gentle.

Thanks. I hope you enjoy and follow my feed. I'm having fun.

Great Shots. I use a Canon PowerShot SD780 IS and a Samsung WB35F. I slip them into my pants pocket and off I go. Feeding the birds all winter has the benefit of them landing near me with no fear. Hope you check out my Blog post today. The patience of a Bear.

Point and shoot zoom cameras have a lot of advantages. Thanks for the follow. Back at you.

He take really good photos ehh

I try. I hope you enjoy and follow my feed. I'm having fun.

I do

Pretty much. I have a Nikon D7200 and I use an AF-S Nikkor 200-500mm 1:5.6E lens. Almost all are hand held, and I love the image stabilization of this lens.