Original photo series: Birds of California #14, Willet

in #birds7 years ago (edited)

Here are some photos I took a common shorebird called the Willet.

willet.jpg

The Willet, Tringa semipalmata, is a familiar and rather vocal shorebird of the Americas. Since these photos were taken in California they are probably of the Western Willet subspecies.

willet2.jpg

It is quite possible, but yet to be definitively demonstrated, that the Western Willet and Eastern Willet are actually different species. Which is just as well for me, because I am not a skilled enough birder to tell them apart. But I will still try to get better photos of them.

willets.jpg

Sort:  

These Willets do look a little smaller than the ones I see here in Florida. It's hard to tell though with just pictures, I would have to see them side by side or maybe with another bird in the picture for some more scale. Great captures!