Original photo series: Birds of California #15, Western Gull

in #birds7 years ago

Here are some photos I took recently of one of the most common birds of the Pacific coast of the US, the Western Gull. This first shot is not the type that I usually like because of the man-made objects. But I find I kind of like the blurry boats in the background, lends a bit of atmosphere.

wegu.jpg

The Western Gull, the appropriately named Larus occidentalis, is a large gull with a dark mantle, yellow bill, and usually reddish legs. It is by far the most common gull species where I live, even outpacing the California Gull.

wegu2.jpg

This species can be pretty boisterous. The individual in the second and third shots was having some sort of disagreement with its neighbors. The vocalizations of this species are familiar sounds in my parts, and not everyone's favorite, but I like them, they are part of the natural history of this beautiful region.

wegu3.jpg

Sort:  

Great captures!

Fantastic shots! Following you!