Why I Wanted Bitcoin Cash to Die & Go Quietly Into the Night...

in #bitcion7 years ago

As we are all well aware, yesterday (August 1, 2017) was a roller coaster ride in crypto land... not because we thought anything bad would happen, but because it was exciting to see exactly what would happen. It was exhilarating to witness history unfold... we now have enough Bitcoin/crypto stories to regale our grandchildren for years.

bitcoin-224233_960_720.jpg

That being said, as soon as I caught wind of Bitcoin Cash and the move by a small segment of the Bitcoin community to push 8MB blocks, seemingly without concern for what others thought, I immediately hated it.

First, I hated it because, after close to 3 years of explaining Bitcoin to friends, family and my online audience, it appeared that we were going to find ourselves with 2 Bitcoins, confusing the hell out of people who were just starting to catch on.

I thought it muddied the waters. I didn't want that to happen. I wanted ONE BITCOIN, forever, end of story.

Second, I hated it because it appeared to be, on the surface, a scathing indictment of our inability to come together as a community and scale Bitcoin in a way that keeps it safe, speedy, inexpensive and readily available to everyone everywhere.

I understand that people are people, we're all different, and we will rarely all agree on any one solution. At some points in the debate it looked like we had stalemated, and at other times it looked like events were moving at breakneck speed.

Either way, it appeared that we had not done our job as the 'keepers of Bitcoin' (albeit self-proclaimed) by having responsible conversation on the issue until we reached a successful resolution.

I felt embarrassed for the Bitcoin community. I didn't know why, or who was responsible, I just felt like we failed at coming together, under the banner of freedom and consensus, to act like grown ups and take care of our baby.

Little did I realize, that the baby is strong enough to withstand all our human bickering and disagreement.

Thank God.

Third, I hated it because I thought it would siphon off market share from Bitcoin (my first love). I must confess, I wanted Bitcoin Cash to fall flat on its face, die and go quietly into the night.

Now, POST-FORK, I have a new perspective, call it a fresh perspective... I say let the markets decide. It will soon be clear who the winner is, Bitcoin with SegWit fully locked in (as we steadily approach that threshold) or Bitcoin Cash with its 8MB block size.

Let's watch and see how it plays out in the real world, what the use cases for each may be, and what we add to our knowledge base about cryptocurrency and the cryptocurrency markets in the process.

I went live on my YouTube channel yesterday (August 1) to speak of the fork, Bitcoin Cash, and how we all get to be participants in the global change we desire it to be, whatever that means for you. Watch it here:

I no longer wish death to Bitcoin Cash. I'm open. We'll see what happens.

Live long & prosper,
Crypto Diva

Sort:  

@cryptodiva Your energy is infectious...Your a wealth of knowledge that i'm glad i came across.

Congratulations @cryptodiva! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This was an awesome read. Thank you for sharing your wisdom.

THANK YOU!!! Bitcoin Cash is growing on me lol

So I'm just getting on to steemit after hearing about it from you on YouTube! I won't lie, I'm completely new to all things crypto currencies related and have been trying to figure out the best way to get going on a very small budget. Like in the manifesting process lol, but what is your advice for starting with nothing. I read tarot and wanted to get a reading business going and when I heard you talking about steemit I just knew I needed to get signed up but I'm struggling because so much of it feels like a foreign language. Any tips would be so greatly appreciated! Thank you! With Love and Light! Upliked and resteemed! Please follow me too 🙏🏻💚

https://steemit.com/@nichole.james

Hey Love! SOOOOOOO happy you took ACTION and followed your Inner Knowing to show up on Steemit. I'm new too, so still learning the ropes, and ALWAYS open to learning, so I'll share what I can from this far on the journey, with the caveat that everything I say could be changed in a matter of days or months, yet in this moment, it's my best:

  1. POST OFTEN (daily) - GOOD quality content. Your wisdom, your wit, your AUTHENTIC VOICE. As far as I can see, Steemit values AUTHENTICITY and REALNESS more than most anything else. What's REAL seems to get paid attention to, and thus paid.

  2. VALUE - what's your value prop? What problem(s) does your presence solve in the world? What can you share that enlightens, entertains, inspires, broadens our perspective... you have VALUABLE knowledge in your head and wisdom in your heart, SHARE IT HERE.

  3. ENGAGE - I find Steemians to be a most engaging bunch, which I LOVE. Engage with comments, on your posts, on other's posts, and make the engagement meaningful, thoughtful.

Most of all, as with all of life, be a great human being (that one should go without saying, but we do know there are folks who are challenged in this department).

Those are general thoughts... now for specific ideas for you:

CARD OF THE DAY - being a reader, you could do a card for the day every day. It can be quick and to the point, almost like a horoscope (there's a whole cadre of people who LOVE things like that). Do it AT THE SAME TIME EVERY DAY.

At the end of the post, give folks the opportunity to reach out to you if they'd like more.

SHOW UP WELL & OFTEN (-;

Love ya!!!
Crypto Diva

Thank you so much for the advice! I think the card of the day is a great idea and a great place to start so thank you, it has been a little overwhelming because I've got a lot to share with the world but I've been battling a blocked throat chakra from muting a lifetime of emotion and intuition and dragging myself out of this painfully shy place that's created an obsessive compulsive perfectionist in me and even thought I've recorded a million tarot readings, I never post them because of one weird tic or another. now is the time though, just stepping into the lions gate, it's now or never. Vulnerable authenticity truly is the only path to ascension and I'm so greatful for your inspiring videos on manifesting your dreams that lead me to this supportive platform to spread the fire! Thank you! We're gonna end up leading the new spiritual movement on steemit and making so much money that the trail behind will be laden with it for everyone that follows 😆

I found you thru YouTube. Now following , pls follow back if you'd like

You've helped me understand Bitcoin and cryptocurrency period! Thank you Rev. Val!

Yaaaaaay!!! GRATEFUL!

Oh I'll definitely will be following - high 5 cryptodiva!!!

As long as we have you... I feel secure in knowing you will fill us in on all the details and untangle any confusion that may come about... Bitcoin for life! be it 1 or 2.... :)