A Bitcoin survey I did

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Steemit, being the crypto based platform that it is, I didn't think it a fair place to do a survey on the general public's awareness of crypto's. That said I have only recently, this year post 2,000$/BTC, gotten into crypto's. I started with steem as it was a time investment and not a monetary one, and have recently bought small fractions of bitcoin and etherum.

Getting into this and seeing how big the community really is I began to wonder just how much of a house hold name bitcoin had become. I decided to conduct a pair of surveys on facebook, I know real technical. I did one in the group of my friends, 160 I keep it to people I know. As well as a group for the small community I live in, there are 7.2k in the group though many have moved away.

Results;
Of my friends and family I had only 8 out of 160 people that even knew what bitcoin is, I asked by name, that is only about 5%. Of the local group only 5 people responded so I must assume that at least some more knew and either didn't see the post, or didn't respond.

Even if you triple the amount of people in my circle that's only 15% of the average population that know's what bitcoin is. This give's me the confidence to keep buying crypto's. If one of the biggest names in crypto's is still so very unknown then we are all still getting in before the masses. They will wake up and when they do it will be very good for all useful crypto holders, even better if the awakening coincides with the collapse of the dollar.