My First Satoshi Roundtable

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

From February 5 to 8, the fourth Satoshi Roundtable took place in an undisclosed venue on the Caribbean coast of Mexico. It's an invitation-only event for insiders of the Bitcoin and Blockchain industry. I was invited to the events before, I never had the time to go, but this year I finally made it. And I do not regret it.

Around 150 Bitcoin early adopters and industry leaders gathered in a luxury resort to hang out, schmooze and discuss the latest developments of the crypto space. There were a few standard talks like the one by former congressman and libertarian hero Ron Paul, but most of the event was organised as an Unconference.

Charlie and Courtney Shrem take a selfie with Ron Paul

It was the first time I took part in this form of event and I really liked it. In the beginning, the participants suggested topics, which were clustered and allocated to time slots and rooms. Which at first seemed like a rather chaotic process, led to a huge number of break out sessions of an extremely high standard.

We would gather in small circles of 10 to 20 participants, someone (usually the one who suggested the topic, but not always) moderated the discussion, but it was the participants who contributed the content and discussed all kinds of critical questions. 

IN CODE WE TRUST - the motto of Satoshi Roundtable

Satoshi Roundtable has a strict non-disclosure policy, so I cannot tell you who participated and what we discussed. Most of the talks were super interesting, but also quite overwhelming for a non-technical person like me. Among all those crypto insiders I felt like a complete newbie. Now I know why Bruce Fenton, the master mind of Satoshi Roundtable, has chosen this closed format: the talks would not have been digestable for 'normal people'.

Fake ad for a centralised Scam Coin

Probably even more important than the official sessions were the informal talks over the meals, at the pool and during the parties. You really get to know people in such an intimate set-up. And I tell you: Bitcoiners know how to party.

The hotel rooms were very nice and spacious

It was definitely worthwhile visiting Satoshi Roundtable and I am looking forward to its 5th edition!

Sort:  

Good job!

Sehr geil! Jetzt bist du Teil der neuen Geheimgesellschaft ;)

Nenn mich Herr Bilderberg.

Wow, all pictures are really nice.

Thanks Aaron for sharing. I think you missed some tags on your post, such as - #whales #thepumpclub #where_prices_are_set etc...
;)

Thx a lot for the inside report! Blockchain is the future! (My first comment on steemit. #newbie too :D )

looks nice

Amazing post, thanks for sharing

a good post and can be a motivation. I am very sad to see Bitcoin continues to decline every day. Will Bitcoin end in a sadness?
If that's the case, very many people in the world are losing their jobs. thank you for shareing @aaronkoenig

Thank you for sharing your information @aaronkoenig.
I think such meetings are very important to be open to knowledge and development.

great post and superheroes

Interesting! thank you for sharing! :)

İt is nice

Great post thanks for it

Nice post, thanks for sharing

Great stuff Aaron and thank you for sharing these insights.

can you njot tell us ANYTHING? :D

The food was very good.

haha. good one :)

so cute!

don,t forget vote me to

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment