Crypto newbie(ish) - lessons learned - but some lessons need repeating!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hello Steemit! - This is my first posting - I hope it is of some value, especially to crypto newbies but maybe to others as well.  

I first heard about Bitcoin in the very early days - around 2010 or 2011.

I was working for a small charity offering I.T. support and tuition to other non-profits in my local area - Leeds, in England. My colleague and I talked about it briefly but he was very sceptical and pretty much ridiculed it. I was the 'junior partner' as he had more technical knowledge than me and, foolishly as it turns out, I deferred to his greater knowledge and we didn't speak of it again.

Then some time later, bitcoin began one of it's meteoric rises and I heard about it, I on the radio I think. I started reading about it and decided I was going to buy some.

But where from? I searched online but I was completely inexperienced and was keen not to get scammed.

After a few days I found localbitcoins but didn't act immediately - I was mulling it over in my mind and still wasn't 100% sure I was going to do it. I remember walking to work on the day of my first bitcoin purchase thinking, shall I turn home and get it done? But duty won out and I continued on my way to work. Big mistake! Bitcoin was at around £33 that morning. By the time I bought, in the early hours of the next morning, the price had risen to £87. Oh well...

Then, well, time passed and I sort of forgot about my bitcoin. I'd learned how to get it offline into a paper wallet and I knew it was at the bottom of a draw but, beyond that, I gave those strings of numbers little thought.

Then more time passed and there was another big rise in the price. By this time it was at around £600 but I succumbed to FOMO and I bought some more, excited by the possibility of making more money!

Not long afterwards the price collapsed by around 70%. I was gutted - like many of us I'm sure. I put it down to experience, licked my wounds and got on with my life.

Then, in 2016, another huge gain began which continues to this day. At this point though, I made the biggest mistake I've ever made in crypto - It had been a painful year or two when the price had been so low and I just wanted out - I sold my bitcoin, breaking even. Since then, the price of bitcoin has multiplied by six. If I'd hung onto it, it would be very handy, to say the least. I guess at least I did one thing half-right - I didn't sell at a loss.

Since I sold back in November 2016, I've again become involved in crypto  - possibly over-involved according to my partner! 

As the title of this piece suggests, I have learned some lessons from this journey and am still learning. I continue to make mistakes, letting my emotions rather than my brain take charge sometimes, but I also feel I am starting to understand this crazy space and in future posts, I'm going to elaborate on what I've picked up in the hope that I can help others to negotiate crypto in a better way and avoid some of the mistakes I've made.

Thanks for dropping in,

Mark.

Sort:  

Congratulations @amobuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @amobuk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @amobuk! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @amobuk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!