My experience with Blocktrades and Bitshares

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

aaa.png

Yesterday, I wanted to convert SBD on my bitshares DEX account into BTS with the Blocktrades bridge service.

The "Internal conversion" option does not support conversion of SBD; but mistaking the "deposit" option to be the "internal conversion"option, I sent SBD to the blocktrades account on the bitshares DEX with the given memo for conversion into BTS. After a while, I realised this was the "deposit" option which is intended for transferring SBD from a user's STEEMIT account to the bitshares DEX by sending it to the blocktrades steemit account with the given memo.
I immediately sent an email to their customer support stating my problem. I wasn't really counting on them taking the time to look into my problem and sorting it out. To my surprise, I received an email the very same day saying that they had refunded my amount.

block.jpg

Why is this so significant?

In this day of innumerable scams and fraudulent/faulty centralised exchanges, it is difficult to trust these businesses. People need to shift to DEXs, and (in my opinion) bitshares is the best DEX out there right now. I have never had any problems with my deposits/withdarwals. The UI is friendly, and also, @kimchi-king (twitter @kevinmesserly) has been very helpful at times when I couldn't figure something out by myself.

Even the most popular exchanges have a considerable number of negative reviews online. They mess up deposits, fail to provide good service and/or customer support and in extreme cases, some of them do not care at all. Many people have lost money to such 'organisations' without a fault of their own. But the guys at @blocktrades bothered to solve my issue even though it was my fault, entirely.

I encourage people to use the Blocktrades service on Steemit for their transfers and to use the Bitshares DEX. Agreed, the Bitshares market is very limited as of now, but I do hope that it will grow in the near future. The SBD market is virtually inactive as of now.

Also, if someone can help me, is there a way to transfer SBD from the bitshares DEX to another exchange/to your steemit account? Do let me know if you have a solution.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Facing same issue..!

I too have had some issues with trying to transfer Steem in my Steemit account. In this case I am sorry that I am not able to offer a solution.

Congratulations @ashfreqk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ashfreqk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!