Nvidia GTX 1070 Superclocked Mining Rig Setup - In depth / Updated Prices

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

evga_08g_p4_5173_kr_geforce_gtx_1070_8gb_1474303090000_1282023.jpg
BH photo pic of graphics card.

While building my rig I did a lot of research, so here is a well informed guide to what I am creating myself. I am admittedly a noob at building so naturally I had to figure out what exactly I needed and how to do it.

My search took all eternity, as I found no where do they have "a complete idiots guide." So here is mine unto others:

The first thing I noticed is that people leave out some components that can be critical to your rig so here is EVERYTHING I bought and the price as of June 2017 at the best prices for brand new not including ebay only because it's just slightly more risky to get something unexpected.

Lets start with the components shall we:

6x EVGA Nvidia GTX 1070 Superclocked - about $400 each, $2,600 with tax - EVGA said to have far better fans than MSI version
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1282023-REG/evga_08g_p4_5173_kr_geforce_gtx_1070_8gb.html
1x Asrock H81 Pro BTC Motherboard- $300
https://www.amazon.com/Intel-Celeron-G1840-Processor-BX80646G1840/dp/B00J2LIE9C/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1497375283&sr=1-4&keywords=asrock+h81+pro+btc
1x Intel Celeron Processor Dual 2.8Ghz - $55
https://www.amazon.com/Intel-Celeron-G1840-Processor-BX80646G1840/dp/B00J2LIE9C/ref=sr_1_4?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1497375283&sr=1-4&keywords=asrock+h81+pro+btc
1x Kingston Fury 4gb RAM - $30
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00J8E8Z42/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
1x Corsair 1200W Platinum Rated Power Supply - $250
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00U6GTONM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
1x Sandisk 120GB SSD Newest Version- $60
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01F9G414U/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
1x Rig Chasis (Ebay) - $200
http://www.ebay.com/itm/6-GPU-Open-air-frame-case-for-mining-rig-with-6-FANs-ONLY-ETHEREUM-Zcash-bitcoin-/162552243675?hash=item25d8de65db:g:zowAAOSwDrNZPT25 (Not exact one I got but Something like this - I'm sure this link will expire) {I reccomend an all alluminum frame with fans- less risk of hazard}
6x Green LED Fans - $50
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06X99MCXS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
6x 16x to 1x PCI Cables from Walmart actually - $50
https://www.walmart.com/ip/USB3-0-PCI-E-Express-1x-to-16x-Extender-Riser-Card-Adapter-SATA-6Pin-Power-Cable/346274046
1x On/Off Button (Why Not) - $10
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009CWY8PA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
1x Windows Download - For Free Online
microsoft.com

Cool Extra:
Smart Plug that tracks electricity usage via Free App:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0178IC5ZY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Let me start by saying that I scoured the internet for best prices and products and I assure you these are them.
You may be able to get better prices on ebay but me personally I didnt want to take any chances with something so exspensive for how little I would be saving.

Also - I'm a noob and I don't have time to build my own rig lol for $200 or so doll hairs I'm more than willing to just buy a professional one. I also like the one I purchased because it already had holes for installing fans. I cannot guarenttee more like this one but the easier the better in my opinion. Although I'm sure installing on almost any rig isn't too hard i've seen a few installed using zip ties etc. Pic below of the one I bought on ebay.. their photo not mine.
Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 1.58.24 PM.png

Also to be noted.. after doing much research on this setup.. probably the best setup for the money would have been using AMD RX480's (Not the RX580's surprisingly) but unfortunately they are no where to be found and either way the price is so jacked up they want like $350 - 400 for a $200 card it's insane. So thus Nvidia was my choice.. they are indisputably better anyway technically but with the RX480's they were cheaper for still very good performance and I was hoping to buy 8 of them.. but so be it. Also the RX480's are compatable with the ethOS operating system designed for mining found at gpushack.com --- If you can afford to wait for them to be available they are a good option and GPU shack has decent prices but still jacked up rather than if you jut purchased the parts all seperately which caused me to do so.

NVIDIA GPUS SHOULDN'T BE USED WITH ETHOS only windows.. it says it is POSSIBLE but not advised so them knowing more than I do, I also do not advise. I didn't know this at first and wished I did.

Windows can be downloaded for free on there website and DOES NOT REQUIRE ACTIVATION which is awesome. So for mining usage this works perfectly.

I will be physically assembling this rig in the coming month so stay tuned for the complete idiots building guide with mining software tutorial installment coming soon!

Another pic from ebay supplier of my rig chasis: The hopeful setup.

Screen Shot 2017-06-13 at 2.02.21 PM.png

Also check out my website if your interested in any cool new stuff!

freshsteaze.com

happy steeming and best of luck! Please let me know if you have any comments or questions about the rig, and please follow! :)

Sort:  

thanks for the info ...i tried to do this back in january for ethereum mining when the price was 10 dollars..i ran into trouble with operating system

Sorry to hear that, were you using ETHOS?

Wow nice rig, I had antminer s5 but my gf told me to get rid of it when it generated too much heat and was noisy as fug.. fcking wimmin.. well eventually I got rid of the woman and still in crypto business! :)

LOL Yes I haven't experienced the heat yet but def stay in the business.. I have seen a lot of those ant miners but was detered because of those rising energy costs and how hard it is to mine via ASIC these days unfortunately. Maybe try getting into GPU mining my man! I provided this guide to help us average joes.. not saying you are haha but yeah I'm glad you liked it and I'm sorry to hear about the girl, they're will be more to come with the income you're making don't even sweat it. They'll get over the noise lol Also Burst coin mining is kind of complicated to setup but only uses hard drive space and costs very little money to get going if you can figure it out, stay tuned! If I can get mine going I'll send you a guide for that too personally! Thank you for the comment! :)

Oh awesome man, I'm a quite beginner, antminers are like 99% full setup and easy to setup pool stuff. My antminer just was used and a bit faulty so getting rid of it was easy choice. Anyhow I'd appreciate the guide for gpu mining, been thinking getting second pc or such, feel free to contact me when you get the guide :)!

Will do my man!

Mining BTC with this one? I was about to invest some 500$ in the mining rig for small diff and price altcoins mining but this blew me away. Looks amazing.

Thank you @freedomnation! Trust me i would have gone as cheap as possible as well but I think to be significantly profitable you need to spend about $2-3,000.. I'm not an expert but from what i've read across the web I think it appears to be the case.. with this rig I think I can expect a yearrly revenue of about $10,000 after electricity costs.. but I will have to see when the year is over to know for sure, I'll keep you posted! It is a lot of money but with the price of etherium in a bullish position (what I would be predominantly mining) I think it's a well worthwhile investment. You can also mine various other coins using this rig as well.. for myself probably siacoin and LBRY credits but let me know how you do too, I'd love to hear! thank you for the comment and love! :) If you need any help with anything or have any questions feel more than free to ask I'm here to help!

How much is electricity from where you live? I plan on mining sias too.

I belive for a rig like this the eletric will probably run you between 150-200$ a month but you would be making about $1500 a month mining from waht I understand.. so it's kind of a no brainer.. It's just the inital investment that is the hurdle. But yes I have high hopes for sia as it's so cheap and good potential to get you hands on a lot of them, I'd def reccomend it! Whats cool is above I have a link to a plug that monitors your electricity usage so you can keep track of it that way to see exactly what it's costing you.. only 40 bones on amazon, I'm sure there are cheaper versions as well elsewhere.

nice post and i want it @astronautjon

haha you can have it! That's what the guide is here for, I appreciate it! :) Save you steem doll hairs!

yeah thanks for posting bro @astronautjon