Finding Historical Price Data for Bitcoin and Altcoins

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I did some research trying to find bitcoin & altcoin historical price data.

What I am looking for

I want to make animated graphs of bitcoin and altcoin price moves. Thus, I needed to find 24 hour historical price data in 1 minute increments. Also, I wanted the data to be in csv file format.

What I learned

It's not as easy as you might think to find data on price moves for bitcoin and altcoins. Finding historical graphs of price moves is fairly straight forward. However, if you want the raw data in csv there are only a few options(that I found)

Best Solution I found

If you are more tech savvy than me you might try messing with API's of sites or exchanges. CoinMarketCap.com has an API that allows you to access historical data. But, after searching I am not entirely sure if they allow you to access the most recent 24 hours of price moves, in 1 minute increments. But, I did find a few websites that allow you to export their chart's raw data in cvs format.

Coindesk.com

Screen_Shot_2017-12-31_at_1.34.25_PM.png
This site allows you to export their charts in cvs data formate(a table that has the coins price and a given timestamp)biggest limitation to using coindesk.com for price data is they only have Bitcoin and Ethereum. I need an option that allows me to access price data for a larger number of altcoins.
Screen_Shot_2017-12-31_at_1.35.31_PM.png

CoinCap.io

This is seems to be a good option. On their Github they have a section with "Rest URLs". These allow you to type in specific URLs on your browser and then your browser returns the data. For example, if you want to see all of the CoinCap.io supported coins just enter http://coincap.io/coins/

Since I was interested in 1 day historical data I used the web address http://coincap.io/history/1day/:coin (enter the coin ticker you want to lookup in the :coin area for instance BTC, ETH, XRP etc..) For Bitcoin I received the following response. The response shows me the past 24 hour Market Cap, Price, and Volume moves.
Screen_Shot_2017-12-31_at_2.21.01_PM.png
After doing some research it appears that these prices are not 100% accurate. So, I am still searching for a means to get the historical price data of Bitcoin and Altcoins.

Question for Steemians

Does anyone know of a way to find the previous 24 hour Price moves in CSV format of Bitcoin and Altcoins??

Sort:  

very informative post and fantastic post. thanks for sharing .

Thanks for the comment!