You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Decided to Start Trading! (and this steem account)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Haha I really liked the advice at the end there, thanks for the insight! yeah I know going behind my parents back wasn't the most respectful thing to do but I was thinking about my future and where I want to be in ten years and thought about my decision for a whole week. But at the same time I saved and made all the money in my college fund so I thought if it's my money who's the government or anyone else to tell me to keep it locked up.

Also I've already learned the lesson of diversity through a risky investment putting my whole portfolio in CRB which is in its infancy and holding onto it for too long past its peak on its upward trend ( will make a post about that later) and then loosing 50% of my portfolio. Just yesterday I made back all my losses from that!

I've also read a whole bunch of books about becoming wealthy and maintaining that wealth a book that really taught me a lot is Millionaire Teacher by Andrew Hallam which I first read when I was 12 and got the idea ingrained into my head by text and my father that you should diversify your total assets with indexfunds, roth IRAs, maintain a good credit, invest in rel-estate and stay frugal until you are truly rich (to me this means deca-millionaire) and always stay humble. Thanks for the comment and the good advice.

Sort:  

Most financial advice books written today are too "old". Any book that says "maximize your 401(k) in your salary job" needs to be dropped into the trash can. Today's world, especially for the US middle class, is almost back to the bad old days of the Guilded Age (1890-WWI) where you could make it as an independent entrepreneur - until the government-backed monopolies crushed you. So watch out for those guys, and diversify, diversify, diversify. Diversify as if the Mob is about to send "Knuckles" Malone to your apartment or house for a "discussion", followed by finding out all the legal bank accounts in your name are mysteriously drained dry the next day. The Real World is not nice.