The One Thing People Fail to Understand about Bitcoin and Cryptocurrencies

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Why cryptocurrency is going to change the world and the importance of asking questions.


make-money-on-bitcoin.jpg

Dear fellow Steemians,

Most people who first hear about Bitcoin or Ethereum hear about how both coins have made incredible profits for their investors. Maybe someone told you that, “If you had bought $100 of Bitcoin 7 years ago, you would now have a whopping $72.9 million to your name”

I first heard about Bitcoin roughly a year and a half ago and I was first told the same types of facts although here were the reasons I didn't seek to find out more:

  • It all sounded very complicated
  • If something is too good to be true, it probably isn’t true
  • It sounded like some fad get rich quick scheme
  • I figured it to be an unsophisticated & idealistic attempt to replace money

Oh boy was I about to go on a ride...

It was only recently that I heard a Timothy Ferriss podcast about cryptocurrency where Nick Szabo and Naval Ravikant explain blockchain technology (underpinning technology of cryptocurrencies) in a way that even technologically challenged people who have never heard of crypto can understand. Immediately after that podcast I felt hooked to the chain and that chain had taken me far too deep down the rabbit hole to have any chance of getting out. I knew too much, I had to find out more.

rabbit hole3.jpg

Obviously I believe that investing in cryptos is an incredibly lucrative opportunity, especially over the long term, but what the podcast answered was WHY that was so. It’s so important to ask questions.

“Don’t judge a man by his answers, but rather by his questions” - Voltaire

Here are some of the questions you might want to ask yourself:

  • Why is it that the prices of some cryptocurrencies have risen by over 3000% within this year alone?
  • What are the biggest limitations of cryptocurrencies right now? When/how could they be overcome?
  • How long could it be until cryptocurrencies become the dominant form of currency? Why?
  • How can cryptocurrency remain competitive in the long term?
  • What could the government potentially do to try to shut crypto down(short answer is very little)?
  • Why did you quit your job as a successful high stakes professional poker player in order to teach people about crypto without any guarantee of pay?

OK so the last question was likely never one which occurred to you but that’s the one I’m going to answer to prove my point.

Without getting too technical, the technology that has fuelled all the growth in the cryptocurrency markets is not just designed to create an alternative form of currency, it is designed to split the ownership of any organisation or project among ALL the users. The reason I’m so passionate about this technology and why I’ve staked everything in it and strive to talk about it with everyone I know is that this technology is bringing the power back to the people.

power_back.png>

This technology is fundamentally changing the world for the better. It is not merely facilitating information flow around the world like the internet did, it is redistributing the one thing which since the dawn of time has been distributed unfairly: power.

This technology is suggesting that maybe:

--> Mark Zuckerberg isn’t the only factor driving Facebook’s success. Maybe, just maybe, it is also the billions of users who freely give up their personal information and who spend hours daily on the platform who are to thank and who deserve a portion of the profits.

--> Google shouldn’t have the right to censor YouTube videos as they see fit and maybe, just maybe, it is the people creating and watching the videos who should each have a say in how the network is governed, how the content creators should get paid and how many ads there should be.

--> the Federal Reserve Bank shouldn’t have the right to change monetary policies and print money at will to benefit the rich at the expense of the poor. Maybe, just maybe it is the billions of people actually using the money on a daily basis who should have a say in how it is governed.

Decentralized blockchain technology has the ability to redistribute the power and profits of virtually every organization on Earth in a way which is an order of magnitude fairer than the way the way they are distributed now. Decentralized is the key word here and it implies that there is no one central overarching power, all users and stakeholders of a blockchain have a say in what happens to it.

e18259201552b4b08fc2ecf19b9232e3.png

When my friends ask me why I'm so fanatic about cryptocurrency and blockchain technology, I never start by saying that it is a profitable investment opportunity or that it will replace world currencies. That's just the tip of the iceberg. I tell them that my goal in this life is to make a substantial positive difference in this world and that enlightening people about decentralized blockchain technology is currently the best way for me to achieve that.

See you at the top,
Follow my community at blockchainttmft, where constructive community members get rewarded.

I spend all day reading and writing about cryptocurrency because it will change the world as we know it. Below are some of my recent articles

Image sources: 1 2 3 4

Sort:  

Totally agree with u. Blockchain will be the future and btc will be the future one currency. Steem will also overtake Facebook. Good to be here early.

@lawrenceho84 Always good to connect with like-minded people, it is indeed good to be here early :)
Thanks for the big upvote!

Buddy, I have similar plans with some doubts, but inspiring individuals like you are helping me to clear the clutter and motivating me to move towards crypto education propagation
Thank you for writing this article buddy
3 cheers!!!!!

Which cryptos do you have so far @amrita.fms? I commented on a comment you made on Suppoman's page by the way :)

Hi @blockchainttmft,
This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions on the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Hi @cem, yea sure sounds good, read your most recent post and followed!

Thank you very much. Looking forward reading more of your stuff too! Now let's get you nominated haha

Congratulations @blockchainttmft! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome read my fellow human. Thanks for the knowledge keep up the good work.

@soupcowboys Thanks for the encouragement, I'm very excited about my doing my part to improve the Steemit ecosystem

Very interesting, I appreciate the info! I'm fairly new to the crypto world but certainly think it will have a huge impact on our future. And hopefully all for the better. Look forward to finding out more... and I'll have to listen to that Tim Ferriss podcast episode! :)

Please do and let me know what you thought of it, it was truly enlightening for me and has changed my life drastically since!

I completly know what you mean man. Haven't stopped reading since I really got in about 1,5 month ago.. Ready for some world changing events!

@fabsquire What was it that triggered your initial interest in it?

Blockchain technology is the future for sure. Governments want to get into it also now. The idea of not having to store your data in one place or to verify documents without costs is what really drives governments to adapt the technology. It isn't really the currency side of blockchain that really is hitting through, but that is a side product, which is fine by me. I'll be happy making a profit while being an early adopter of the technology.

A good read. All good points. Power to the people!

This post received a 2.9% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @blockchainttmft! For more information, click here!

what I regret that I know Bitcoin since 2010, I don't achieve to enter just into 2013 in cause the short in funds, what get you in is the same what suck me in the rabbit hole.