Sort:  

Clearly, the best course of action was to sell. I certainly wish I had cashed out more than I did. I'm very bullish long term, but until then I need to maximize the growth of my BTC position -- at least as long as BTC is still the reference currency. Some think that will always be the case but I'm not so sure. What do you think the strongest coins are going into the second half of 2018?

Yeah the timing is tough for sure and when it dropped that fast in February it was like 70% of it was gone in a week or so. That ways insane. Then there has been this elongated bleed out and I remember LTC being around $120 and really feeling like that was solid and then it tanked under $100 so that is pretty brutal. Then Monero was holding strong but it finally got crushed too.

Personally I think that for something to break out it would have to really drive a lot of demand to it. Evidently Dan Larimer is almost done coding the next itteration of "BitShares" and "STEEM" on top of EOS. He acts like he is a couple of weeks away from getting it done. Now all that might be backend stuff so I'm not sure if people have been working on the front end Interfaces. If that happens it could drive a lot more demand to something like EOS because people will attempt to gain power there and jockey for position to get ahead there. Hopefully that would push the EOS market cap past that of Bitcoin Cash.

Ultimately the ones that I feel have a chance to really make big gains are platforms. Even though I was critical of TRON in the past they did get their mainnet up and do have a large team. They might make progress and get something done. It is really hard telling how close Ethereum is to scaling and transitioning to Proof of Stake.

Also it is really going to depend on Coinbase adding new coins as well. They are adding Ethereum Classic but no one was super hyped about that but it will be the cheapest coin on Coinbase when that gets there so people could pick some up.

If Coinbase adds EOS it could really become a backbone of the crypto world especially if other exchanges start adding EOS markets so everyone is trading stuff with EOS kind of like what happened with ETH.

It is really hard saying in the end.

Your analysis is spot on. For EOS, we need time to establish stability, we need actual stuff to be built on all these platform coins, and we need at least one real killer app to get the ball rolling with value creation becoming the driver over hype and potential.

I think it is going to happen pretty fast because even seeing how good the graymass wallet is right now shows that 3rd party developers will build out fast and Dan is almost done with the next iteration of STEEM that will be on top of EOS.

What do you think about the Ethos wallet? I was very excited about it when I dropped 5k on tokens several months ago, but it seems like they aren't getting to market fast enough. It's killing me that the iOS wallet isn't out yet.

So there were several things that were sort of weird about the Ethos situation. First of all Suppoman was shilling it extremely hard and he kept just making bullshit videos saying how their platform for guessing prices of cryptos was the best way to earn crypto but in reality he wasn't earning any real money and he was let into some special alpha group. Everytime I asked him if they paid him to promote it he wouldn't answer. He was just annoying to me and he was just hyping everything retardedly hard.

Then the second thing that I though was goofy was that the CEO was an undergrad at Brown or some Ivy League school and I'm just thinking to myself how hard going to school is and doing all that and then trying to command a group of employees out on the West Coast.

Then it wasn't clear how they were going to drive actual demand to the Ethos Token.

There were just a lot of question marks for me and it had already surged when I looked into it so I only bought 10 tokens at the time and never bought anymore.