You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to bring normies to Steemit in three easy steps

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)
  1. I'm glad you reminded me about being new and not going anywhere. Truth is, I'm kind of somewhere, but we always want to go somewhere faster. (Also, I'm not really new, but I went away for a long time and just came back a couple months ago with daily writing, but anyway 🙂)
  2. Here's what I do: I write on the topic of spirituality, and then I go to facebook and post the links in many relevant facebook groups. And at the bottom of each of my posts I put this little blurb:

What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is a blogging site where we reward each other for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars. Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself. You can upvote articles like this and become part of this vibrant, leading edge community by going to https://steemit.com and clicking "sign up."

Maybe after clicking on my links enough times they're gonna be like ok what the hell is this Steemit thing.

Sort:  

Pretty cool! I usually show them the money first and then do a little bit of explaining as best as I can but not too deep