How I could have used Bitcoin to buy medicine for my mother...

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Hello Everyone,
I am not much of a writer but have been trading on Bitcoin for over a year now. I was introduced to Bitcoin by a friend of mine who told me that it is an interesting early technology that you can invest into for more profitable rewards in the future. Up until that day, I used to see random ads on webpages while surfing the internet on Bitcoin and I never really believed in the technology and its power and capabilities.

I belong to a big family. I mean I have a lot of sibling brothers and sisters. I guess I am the most tech savvy of them all and have been doing decent for myself. My parents have always envisioned that I was destined to something better in life and make them proud. My father recently retired from work. I am happy for him that he had worked hard for all these years and finally can relax. He doesn’t come from a high-income background but did everything in his might to educate and nurture us. Specially me, he loves me a lot. Mom tells me that he loves me more than any of my siblings. So anyway, he recently retired and that meant that he no longer had insurance to pay for medical bills for him and my mom. Buying medical insurance for old people is very expensive here. So obviously, I decided to take care of those for them and buy them medicines on a regular basis.

So, this time when I bought medicines for my parents, I had to order them in from a different country where they are sold at a cheaper price. My wife's cousin lives there, and he has been nice enough to facilitate this in return that I send him the bank transfer for the cost incurred. The cost of medicine this time was about $440.16. When I opened my online bank account to make the transfer, I ended up paying $34.43 for the transaction fees. That's a 7.82% on the transaction fees! Wow!! And if I were to send the same money to him in Bitcoin, I would have incurred a transaction fee of around $0.20 i.e. 0.045%. I only wished for my wife's cousin to have a Bitcoin wallet. So, I could easily transfer the money within a few clicks and that too the fact that the money would be sent much faster than the actual bank transfer itself.

When I first joined bitcoin, I was in it for the money and the huge gains. But now, after this incident, I am a changed man. I believe in the technology. I believe in BITCOIN... its POWER... its PRINCIPLES... and will spread the message.

"LONG LIVE BITCOIN!"

crypto-obd7

Bitcoin Wallet Address:
1KubuTGZqChtE7JN5UgVTvuhXoxpKvinTD

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Hello @crypto-obd7! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko