First Experience Buying BTC + Quick Guide / ENG version

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

Im creating this post for people that are just starting on this crypto world, just like me, hope you find it useful, I would be able to find a post just like this one im writing It really could helped me to save a lot of time, only time, hopefuly until this point I didnt lose any money. Here we go...

As it says on the title this was my first time buying a Bit Coin, well not a bitcon , just 25 Euros of a bitcoin which it was 0,004 BTC at that time (like 24 hours ago).
By doing my research, reading forums, asking friends, reading discord chats, I found there are many places where you can buy and sell a bit coin, I buy in 2 different websites and in 2 different ways.

A- localbitcoins.com in this one I bought with banktransfer so Im still waiting for my BTC, it takes like 2 work days as I said, but no fees, I will update you and create a new post once i get them and explain what happened with my BTC after I got them.

B- coinbase.com here this site gives you the opportunity to buy bitcoins in 2 ways, credit or debit card/bank transfer
in this one I just decided to use my debit card and make a purchase of 25Euros to get X BTC , just click buy, put your credit card and its like buying on ebay or amazon, simple. And because its debit card its instantanely, you get your purchase in seconds.. (Oh by the way I wont make guide of how to create accounts on this websites, its really easy, thats why its a Quick Guide)
But now since I like to dig deep and learn everything about what im doing, now that I have my 0,004 BTC I wanted to use it, just to buy other cryptocurrency for example open.STEEM, or to invest or do some tradings... , so what you have to do to transfer them?, (since i try with coinbase I will explain what I did there) I tell you.. :

1- Create an account on coinbase.com and buy BTC of course.. (keep in mind debit and credit instantanely with a fee, bank account takes 2 work days more or less.

2- Once you get your BTC or whatever cryptocurrency you bought in there, you need a somewhere to transfer that.. I use bitshares, so you have to create a wallet in here: https://wallet.bitshares.org , there is a friend that is helping me a lot @chuckyfucky , he is involved with easyDEX which is another wallet much more easier to use, I also invite you to try it by yourself: https://exchange.easydex.net

3- Once you get your wallet in bitshares, you need to get the address from it to tell coinbase.com where you want your BTC ... so I show you with a few IMG will be easier for you..
-So you go to your menu> deposit
-once you are there select open ledger as transfer service
-in that way you see that you are going to deposit BTC, and openledger change those BTC into open.BTC
-select deposit, and since is your first time with this wallet you don't have an address so click on generate new adress, and you will get that long alphanumeric code, thats your address yeyy!!, so copy it with that button that says copy address.
1.jpg
4- Now having your bitshares wallet address copied, go to your coinbase.com wallet, click on send (enviar) , a window will pop up, where you have to put your bitshares wallet address, so paste it in there, fill the information as I did, confirm and it will appear a new transfer as I show in Number 4, click where the arrow marks, you will get another window, what is this window saying. in number 5... well status of your transfer , and I will make a pause and explain something here:

What is happenning is that you are transfering virtual money from one wallet to another, that virtual money is data, like bytes, megas, gigas, depending on how much you transfer, so that needs to pass through a process, and thats what mining is, processing information (this information Im giving you maybe is not 100% correct, mining also could be used for other purposes, Im glad if someone would like to give me a nice explanation of what it is, im just writing what I understood it is and showing it through my experience) and that information needs to be confirmed according to coinbase and with my transfer 6 times needed to be confirmed , in the .jpeg is saying that was confirmed like 121 times, but to get the first 6 confirmations it tooks like an hour on my case usually takes that on little amounts.

2.JPG

Once all the 6 confirmations were done it changed from pending to completed, now its time to wait until you get your BTC on your bitshares wallet, which will be transformed into open.BTC.
Sadly after the confirmations finished I had to wait like 14 hours until I get my BTC into my bitshares wallet, so don't be afraid you will get them may be soon, may be later, but i suggest in case you don't get your crypto after 12 hours send a support ticket to openledger.io , I did it after 10 hours waiting, they didnt answer or check my ticket because it says there that you have to wait like 72 hours until they answer, but after a few more hours of drama...
I got my BTC, and now im here writing this post to you guys, hope you find it useful, any questions that you got please comment here I will try to answer
And of course if I wrote something that wasnt correct please let me know I will fix it and, be I will be thankful for you to be helping me.

PD: sorry for my english mistakes

PD2: Thank you for reading, if you liked and find it useful please give a vote, in that way you will be encouraging me to keep writing more posts, and keep learning about cryptocurrency

Sort:  

Congratulations @deadend94! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!