Binance Still Down, But Boy, They Did Handle This Very Well

in #bitcoin6 years ago

At the moment of writing, the exchange Binance, which was undergoing unscheduled maintenance last night, is still not working, after briefly being back online. This time it seems there's a very strong DDoS taking place, as the website is not up (but allegedly, all backup systems are restored).

It's interesting to note, though, that they did handle this situation very well. I mean, not the upgrade, which should have been assessed earlier, but their "hacked" accusations. Some of them coming from prominent crypto icons, like John McAffee:


Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 2.12.26 PM copy.png


Well, apparently, the CEO of Binance, Changpeng Zhao (or CZ, as you can see it on his Twitter handle) got a little bit upset about this situation, so he raised the stake a bit:


Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 2.12.26 PM.png


The irony is strong with this one!

And, for the final coup, he did something really worthy of praise: he published the Bitcoin addresses of their hot wallets.


Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 2.12.10 PM.png


It's true that they shouldn't find themselves in such a tight place, with an unplanned upgrade going rogue, but you must give it to them: they handled it really nice.

Now, if only the site will come back up...


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created steem.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your Steemit rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Psst: new to Steemit? Start Here

Sort:  

well well :) they did good! binance is for smaller coins right?

They showed us why they are the biggest Crypto exchage.. Thorough professional

Even tho' I find McAfee quite funny, he is still someone you shouldn't really take serious.

Too true, I feel like he has good intentions though :)

this maintenance was the hottest one in the history or may be ever hahah

Binance is back online with 70% transaction fee discount.

One other thought. I've seen these patterns before: upgrade, ddos, non-working site, deleted DNS record, vanishing in thin air...

Fortunately it was not such a case this time.

Awesome. This should be the standard for situations like this - he's able to briefly expose 2% of one wallet's holdings to (minor) risk in exchange for providing some peace of mind to users and investors. Seems like a good move in my book.

Appreciate the update, McAfee is such a (knee)Jerk lol.

I agree with you @dragosroua they handled it like a Boss, very professional

I don't have an account, but people say https://us.binance.com/ works...

Lets pray that BNB site restores back, which has make us upset which is down.we are interested in BNB. Thankyou for your brief explanation...

well just chack few minutes ago and binance is working good and smooth .. so yeah thanks for post

still not working for me, they must've been blocked some pretty big IP clusters...

People are very scare about any glitch, in any exchange, but contrary to a regular stock exchange crypto market nevers sleeps.

Kudos to them, after dropping a huge bollock they've done nothing but garner good publicity out of a bad situation. Excellent PR.
As for McAfee, rumourmongering idiot. I wish he'd just chop off his dick on TV now and then preferably disappear and give us all some entertainment as we're waiting for Binance to come back up !
McAfee, CZ owns ya !

Binance CEO vs John McAfee haha.

I was able to get Binance to work on my phone but the desktop version still doesn't load. Hopefully they can handle it soon. They did indeed handle the situation, though.

😳 Thirty thousand BTC!!! Wrote that in words cos that figure make me shudder. shrugs

I pray for the maintenance of finance site. It will really rise.

thank for news

Thank you very much for sharing this information dear friend @dragosroua, it is always good to be informed in the world of cryptography.
Count on my vote as a witness
I wish you a good start to the weekend

I agree with you.

your bitcoin post anytime learning to giving alot of thing.i am to see learning of you.your every post very helped me inspired of my steemit work very goodly.thank you very much for your good and valuable post...my dear friend..@dragosroua...

By getting back fully operational should answer all the bad calls to all !Come on BINANCE ;)

Thanks for bringing this exchange of words to us. I had no idea that this was going on. I knew about the maintenance, didn't know that McAfee had a compelling interest.

Lol, I just read 2 hours ago they were online again. But as you wrote they are briefly back.

This is yet another big issue preventing crypto to become mainstream: unstable exchanges. A few weeks ago kraken was for 2 or even 3 days offline when it should be scheduled maintenance for just a few hours.

Looks like maintenance continued longer than expected.

John McAffee is a "prominent crypto icon" these days? DEAR GOD, I hope it ends better than his attempts at making new miracle drugs in South America.

The man is popular and, as someone who spoked with him in person, I can testify he had all his minds with himself (at least for the time we talked). His social media persona - as tainted as it may be - is not 100% overlapping with his real life persona. At least that was my experience.

Positive news! Thanks for taking a productive approach to looking at it rather than reporting a biased angle that could just cause more FUD. The Binance team has always seemed to be very professional to me, so it doesn't surprise me that they would handle this well.

Maybe Steemit Inc can take a lesson? Seems like if a guy as busy as CZ can make updates like this during a period like that, then why can't the Steemit guys do at least 1/10th the updates.

gata merge acum , dar nu pe ala vechi , trebuie sa intri pe us.binance.com