The reason of the sudden rise in the crypto market may be manipulation

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Introduction

In my daily and weekly update, I have said that I am expecting another low, as the consolidating triangles where formed on all of the major cryptos.

These are the charts from this morning:

BTC/USD

ETH/USD

LTC/USD

As you can see all of the cryptos are strongly correlated, and the chart pattern that I was expecting is called a bearish pennant and is knows as a continuation pattern.

After a steep decline, a price consolidates usually in a symmetrical triangle before it continues to go down.

However, this didn’t happen, which caught me off guard. As I have searched for news and other relevant factors and I have found nothing that could significantly impact the market, which leads me to believe that this current rise cryptos are experiencing is fake.

My takeaway

Check out the correlation. This price action cannot be real, as demand cannot be this correlated. If you scroll down the coinmarketcap you will see that this pattern is everywhere.

This all leads me to believe that there some kind of manipulation going on, or not manipulation in the strict sense that whales are pushing the price, but what I think its currently going on is certainly linked to exchanges.

Last time we have seen this fake rise was on 12.04.2018 and it was a ‘short squeeze’.

A short squeeze is a situation in which a heavily shorted stock or commodity moves sharply higher, forcing more short sellers to close out their short positions and adding to the upward pressure on the stock. It implies that short sellers are being squeezed out of their short positions, usually at a loss, and is generally triggered by a positive development that suggests the stock may be embarking on a turnaround. Although the turnaround in the stock’s fortunes may only prove to be temporary, few short sellers can afford to risk runaway losses on their short positions and may prefer to close them out even if it means taking a substantial loss.

On the chart below I have compared the BTC/USD short vs longs on Bitfinex exchange and labeled the 12.04.2018 with a rectangle.

As you can see from the chart, short positions suddenly dropped while longs suddenly rose and are now intersecting similarly like last time.

Looking at the Bitcoin chart you can see how this impacted the price last time and that Bitcoin went on to almost 10k. But as this rise was fake and demand has only short-lived, the price eventually came back to the levels of prior lows from which it rose, and then went even lower.

Conclusion

We are currently seeing a similar price action, which leads me to believe that something similar is about to happen. This situation is very peculiar as it came after days of stagnation, and I think this is an artificial rise whose purpose is to signal that the bottom is in, as indecision was starting to rule the market. Those who are not aware of this may get burned as I am pretty confident the price is of Bitcoin is going lower than the current low at 6100$ considering the amount of resistance that is above 6700$ level. Be aware and careful in the following days.

Sort:  

It's really hard to tell with these things, I have been looking at the 1 month chart, then the 3 months chart, then the 1 year chart and trying to see what stage we are at. I am about to buy into XYO network because it's a good investment, although I don't want to pay too much for my ethereum. So I am wondering if the price can possibly get lower, my instinct says yes. If it starts to go up and hits 7k then I will probably buy in regardless.

Thanks for an insightful commentray

In my opinion, (that is based on extensive daily analysis) markets haven't bottomed out. But if you want to hold something longer term these are good prices.

I love reading about market trends, even though I don't understand the lingo at all. Do you have a idiot's guide to stock market terms somewhere?

what would you like to know?

Golly gee, there's so much I don't even know where to start. What is a bull's market vs. a bear's market? What does is mean to break upward of line or to form a pennant? How do you know if the stock is rallying?

I feel like I could ask a million questions before I even begin to understand half of it.

Congratulations @drumsta! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!