When I first learned about Bitcoin I didn’t buy…(Good Grief!)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

imageschr.jpg

I’m sure there are many other people who made the same mistake? It was 2010 and I was on the hunt for new opportunities when I came across this new totally digital currency that you can mine with computer hardware. I was fascinated!!!! But it was only worth 10 cents at that time and it was used primarily for untraceable nefarious activity and gambling over the internet. So I passed on buying any!!! (GRIEF) I put my money in Gold and Silver instead.

So more time passes and it’s sometime in 2011 and I look at Bitcoin again and It’s up to $31.00! I’m like I have to buy in, but decide to sleep on it…… The next day cash in hand ready to buy, and the price of Bitcoin crashes to $2.00. So guess what I DIDN'T buy any…. (GRIEF) Bought more gold and silver instead….

Now feeling completely confused, and unsure about the future of Bitcoin I put it on the back burner of my mind and focus completely on accumulating as much gold and silver as possible. But still would read up on the boom and bust of Bitcoin. (GRIEF)

Finally in early 2016 the Bitcoin price crashed back down to $400.00 and I jumped in!!!!! And now the price is $2,900.00. (GOOD)
Needless to say I’m now a total believer in Bitcoin and the cryptocurrency market! (GO STEEM)

Please share a comment on your path to Crypto enlightenment.

Sort:  

Really well done! You made the right call! I built a mining rig last year to mine ethereum with. Got a total of over 180 ethereum during a period of 3 months. Sold it for like 2k dollars. Ouch. Now I am fervently posting on steemit until I make up the difference. Luckily it is fun to do and it helps you see chances like your bitcoin opportunity

Right? I think all of us in the crypto world have a story like that where we're kicking ourselves for making a fraction of what we could have! But at least we were in the game early; that learning experience is invaluable.

You can do it! with STEEMIT, I hope I can too.

Nice to hear I'm not alone - I bought and sold bitcoin for a profit in the early 2010s, but we're talking $5... I don't think we could have known how huge it will have grown in price (or let's face it, we'd all be millionaires)!

Luckily you figured it out when BTC was $400 - and you got into Steem (as have I). I think Steem is the next big thing, along with ETH, so we're on the righteous path!

Yeah I think we are definitely on the right path.

Yes, we all have the woulda, shoulda, coulda story. But we're in now! That's what counts!

Upvoted and Followed

Yes we are!!! Thanks for the comment and resteem!

Yea I saw those coin- wallet version of bitcoins they sold in one stand in one event I was participating in 2012 .. And those Coin wallets were all like 1.0 BTC and they sold them like 5 dollars~ worth. In that time it was quite a hard thing to predict the current value.

Yes it was hard to predict!

Predicting was easy. Shutting down your monkey brain and HODL instead through the bear periods was a lot harder.

Dang monkey brain!