You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin can't possibly reach news highs this year, can it?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Most here on Steemit, the retail buyer, not to mention the average Joe thinking about investing, need some consolation or encouragement, what with the downtrend this year.

@jrcornel they don't know anything about Bitcoin, I'm sad to say, and yet they have invested or want to invest all the same.

They haven't learned to think in terms of crypto as the unit of account, not fiat. (They also think you can predict when moves will happen.) When I look at the price performance of btc, I think about how I can churn more volume trading and build up my savings of coins. (I look at macro trends, daily news, hourly arbitrage opportunities)

And so, with my friendly wager that btc would hit 10k usd by the end of August, your post is no consolation and no encouragement for me. I'm going to be down two coins if there isn't a rapid ascent in the next couple days. And I felt confident back in Spring that August would see a major move. There was but also a reverse.

Sort:  

I am not sure it can happen by August, but in a few weeks, it could certainly hit. Not sure that helps you all that much though?!

Right. Unless there're rumors of major mining, application or exchange development, I think I'll have to just wait for the end of year tax bump. Futures SEC approval might finally come then too.

Bakkt is expected to be up and running by November. Perhaps an ETF approval joins them.

Buying the expectation