You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decentralizing Energy, Power Ledger (POWR)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Yea I'm still figuring it out myself. But to me I can see the potential. There's a lot of inefficiencies in the way energy is distributed now. It makes sense to create a mesh like resilient network for energy. It can take advantage of existing infrastructure as well if utilities hop on board. They wouldn't have to market anymore, but would need to be price competitive. Bye bye to state regs as well. Was is electricity $0.08 in some states and $0.16 in others? Power Ledger has a few pilots going I'll have to check those out and see the results.

Sort:  

I hope they succeed. Anything to drive down the price of electricity over here.. It's why I stopped mining back in 2014. It's €0.21 kw/h here. Unfortunately, not a whole lot of sun or solar panels either so I doubt Powerledger will ever do me any good.

Though.. I just had an amusing thought of poor people using old bicycles refurbished to generate electricity when you hit the pedals, and cycling their ass off to sell the generatedelectricity on powerledger..
I wonder, how much electricity would one generate by cycling? We could hook this up to hometrainers and market it as 'Making money while you lose weight'?

I'm starting to see a whole different picture here..