How does one get Bitcoin Gold off a wallet that does not support Bitcoin Gold?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I am sure this is a stupid question, but it is a stupid question I am sure a lot of newbies to the Crypto world have .

How do I get my bitcoin gold off my JAXX Wallet? I want to move it to an exchange that supports Bitcoin Gold.

I heard that if you wanted to be sure you got your "gold" to be sure to keep it on a wallet where you have the private key. Bittrex did not announce that they would support the fork until the same time they locked the wallets so you could not deposit bitcoin.

So I put my Bitcoin on my JAXX and there it sits. I want to move my Bitcoin to Coin base before the next fork as they say they will actually support that one. My fear is that if I simply move my Bitcoin I will lose my chance to recover the Bitcoin Gold. The idea of losing out on the next fork is not an option for me, so simply waiting forever (if then for JAXX to support Gold is not going to happen).

What would happen if I sent my Bitcoin to an exchange that supports both? Would it simply "split" into equal amounts of Bitcoin and Bitcoin Gold? Sort of like how you can send NEO and GAS to the same address?

Would the Bitcoin Gold stay "hidden" on my JAXX for later removal when (if) the ever do support it?

Would the Bitcoin Gold then be lost forever?

Whatever I do, I don't want to endanger my actual real Bitcoin.

HELP!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @geonolan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @geonolan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!