My first experience with a Bitcoin ATM in Bucharest

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Bitcoin_Romania[1].jpg

Twenty years ago I first felt the use of an ATM. My first card, my first cash withdrawal experience at the ATM. I got close to the device and followed the instructions with the fear of not doing anything wrong. Behind me are gathering a few people who are eagerly waiting for my success.

ATM-Feeling-Lucky-326x245.jpg

Today I have once again lived the same experience of using Bitcoin ATM. I went to the nearest Bitcoin ATM and initiated the first BTC transformation in cash. The same steps in the same order, the same people behind me, looking forward to materialize the artificial growth of today’s Bitcoin value. Living in a country where the denomination is not made in USD is an extra experience of exchanging currency from two coins at the same time. Cash withdrawal is done in a few steps and confirmation lasted 5 minutes against a fee of about 8%. Everything went off normally and in a few minutes I was already leaving with the cash.

bancomat_75895900.jpg

For those who have not yet experienced this feeling, I strongly recommend you!

ThinkstockPhotos-184694712.jpg

I'm open to answering questions on this topic for more datails..

Enjoy!

Sort:  

bitcoin is stabilizing fiat currencies around the world! everyone is now confident that all their fiat paper money can be converted over to bitcoin or other blockchain cryptocurrency

Thanks for posting I will probably piss my pants when I see my first one lol

I know the feeling.

Hi there! So, these ATMs convert your bitcoins in cash? How? You have to send coins to an address? Give it the password of your wallet? Or is it a bitcoin debit card?

Ok first of all, dont ever give anyone password for your wallet unless you are sellling it to them for fucking cash LOl and there wuld nver be a need for you to really do that anyway, hah, just dont ever do it!

and u just send the macine bitcoins! yes an address pops up! with qr code! u scan it! u wait for confirmation, cash comes out!

why would u need a special card? lol my friend s who i show bitcoin ATMs to always go "Oh but i dont have a bitcoin atm card or anaccount" and im like no the bitcoinIS your account!'

peole really dont get it

lol, u can also get a bitcoin debit card to withdrawl cash at any atm tho

if u feel a neeed to convert bitcoin to cash ur not doing it right lol u need to veiw bitcoin as real money and cash as counterfit worthless paper because thats the truth, no atter how many peopel are still hypontized by the trance of fiat paper money...

Relax. Just wanted to know how to get some traditional money in case I wanted to get a juice or a sandwich. Most stores still have not adopted use of Bitcoin :(

And thanks for the explanation :)

We have one in Sofia I think, but I never use it.

It is very simple. Enter your phone number. They'll send you a 5-digit code. You enter it in the next step and your ATM generates a ticket. Then scan the code on that ticket with the phone and send the money to that address. Then wait a few minutes for confirmation from the miners, after which your ATM scans QR from your ticket and you instantly receive your cash. Success.

Sounds easy.

it is very easy. Good luck!

Lol Habro! I wanted to follow you as a reward for the excellent answer, but I allready do. I guess I have to get to know better which are the people i follow. Cheers

I got lucky when my local shop got one in, first thing I did was teach my teenage kids how to use them.
The only down side is that in NYC they require ID scan witch is a pain.
Great post @hebro

yeah the ID scan is rediculous and here in calfifornia some machines make u scan ID some only make u enter a phone number to text, some dont do either , which are the best ones

and the government will never fucking learn, there will always be local bitcoin dealers, always, and u cant stop that, so if u make people scanIDs and shit at a bitcoin ATM, people will just not use it if they wana stay anonymous!

basically if you VOLUTEER to pay illegal unonstitutionl taxesthats your fault!

bitcoin and thenmonero bbytecoinanonymous crypto currrencies will make it so noone can ever have a clue what you might have so what is there to report?

same with exchanges like poloniex or even bittrex and cooinbase, if they start reporting trade "profits" to the irs, people will just stop using those exchanges and simply will use shapeshift or blocktrades, noone will convert shit to Fiat, just to bitcoin, or to ethereum!

and u cant make a lw that covers "all" crypto currency, beause u cant legally define it! theres no way! so if u make a regulation concerning bitcoin people will just use a different coin!

Thank you very much!

8% seems like a lot, but it must be pretty cool to see Bitcoin turn into actual cash right before your eyes.

if you dont see the bitcoin as real cash, or if you live somewhere wher people dont accept it as real money, your living in a very under evolved backwards place, , i always tell this to people! and that if they are the only personin thir town who seems to knwo about or accept bitcoin, then they ave alot of work to do converting souls for bitcoin jesus! if u are the only butcoin person in your twon, take advanatge of that become your local bitcoin consultant! peopel always need local bitcoinhelpers to come meet with them in personto show them how it allw orks, peopel are afraid of who to trust etc!

anyway we should be lauccnhing campaiggns to ensure that theres a bitcoin ATm in every part of the world even where it may not be profiatblee, we should run btc atms even at a loss thru donations and teemit posts so we can speed up global adooption! one bitcoinATm allows a whl CITY to use bitcoinbecause like a bak, people rarly need to actualy use cash machines to get cash out! and even canabis dispnaries will accept bitcon and dispensaries are on of last things i actualy need cash for LOL

You can pay less than 8% fee to the miners but the confirmation will be 1 hour instead of 5 minutes.

Gosh to see a Bitcoin ATm is amazing and real cash coming out even better. Really getting intargrated with society.

cool! just found out there is one in Valencia too! Was trying to get bitcoin but a bit of a hassle!
http://epoca1.valenciaplaza.com/ver/157013/cajero-bitcoin-valencia.html

How long did the whole process take?

no more than 5 minutes.

nice friend...

OMG i would love to see a btc atm in my city.

hope you will one day!

Cool post! I live in South Korea, I know there is an ATM in Seoul but have not visited it yet. Will make a post if I do. 8% seems a bit steep though!

I personally paid an 8% fee so I would not wait too long for confirmation. Theoretically, you can pay a smaller fee and return to the ATM after you have received at least 1/3 confirmations.

Oh, I see. Do you know what the smaller fee is? I would also just take the bigger fee instead of waiting. Makes me nervous, hehe.

It's hard to say. As your bitcoins are composed of several operations, the more it will take confirmation and the fee will be higher. For example, if you have 0.1 bitcoin ($ 280) in your wallet, coming from a single operation, then you will pay a $ 0.5 fee for the transfer.

Understood, thanks for the info!

This one's cool. 😎
I hope India gets a few of them :(

Ini keren.

it's hot, i guess!

This might feel like being the first one to discover an uncharted territory !
Can't wait to feel the same ;-)

For what It's worth!

We've only got one here in Hawaii. Thanks for posting!

thank you

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.39 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Yep, these atms are competing with the best atm in the world. if you will ever get in bucharest and you will need bitcoins, this atm's will be the best solution

Very good !!!!

Great:) I didn't knew about it. I've done some transactions with them by internet. They moved really fast.