You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mine Crypto Anywhere with Your Computer - Home, Work, School. Simple Noob Friendly Guide

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Unfortunately with any mainstream computer, and with standard power rates, you will end up paying more in electricity rates than what you can get for mining even the best coin that the program recommends. Now, if you get a special GPU and a high end system (and have really low power rates), you might be able to make some money. But, otherwise, just consider a fun little hobby.

I have had it running on my system since last summer. I just use it occasionally, and have a few bucks in the bank - but as others have mentioned, it's also a real strain on your hardware.

Sort:  

Do you just have it running on a normal computer? A rough ball park estimate, how much would you think a special GPU and high end system cost?

yeah, just on my standard laptop.... like 5 years old... I also have an Nvidia GPU, so I get some extra hash power w/ that - but still, not enough to make it profitable.

oh, I'm guessing you'd have to spend upwards of at least $4K USD to get a set up that's profitable.... I really can't say for sure. Look into special mining GPU's, as I believe Nvidia is releasing a special line of them soon.

I would try to get a loan somehow to get a profitable setup:) I think cryptos are going to be the future..... Do you know of any videos showing how to hook up to Lap Top and what the best products are to buy? Would Nvidia be able to mine all types of coins? I was looking into the Antminer but they can only mine bitcoin type coins? Thanks @internets