Sort:  

Well bad is clearly not the right word.

There are tradeoffs when talking about DPoS, Naïve PoS, Slasher PoS, PoW. Sure you get some speed and consistency features with DPoS with the tradeoff of less security. It is much more nuanced than this and there are many unknown unknowns.

Stay tuned for a more in-depth post about DPoS. I'll probably get lots of flak so it is taking me a while to make sure I keep my opinions separate from reality.

Sure, I would totally appreciate hearing your thoughts on this. It obviously seems like a different 'flavor' of decentralization.

I like different flavor. As long as you are aware of the tradeoffs, it is fine. Steem is doing just fine with DPoS.

Security of DPOS is stronger in practice. You only need to coerce a few mining company CEOs to change the course of Bitcoin.

Disagree.

If you think you can change Bitcoin with just a few big miners you are wrong.