You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Bitcoin Another Establishment Trap?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

How real is this pump and dump? Is Steemit a thing of the past, has it leveled out, or is it still a viable growing community. I'd really like to know because I'm drafting up some content and plans for an open-source community project I was going to blog/interact on Steemit. Should I be considering some other medium/forum/site/app?
I look forward to your response, if you can, at your leisure.

Sort:  

I went hard the first couple months, then hit disillusionment after the first crash, took a break. Coming back recently, it appears there was been alot of development going on, alot of commitment from the community improving upon weakness and getting the fundamentals in place to grow to the next level...

the number of members has also grown, and with the influx of new people into the crypto-world happening and exponentially more yet to come, I got the sense it's a viable growing community with some significant prospect ahead.

For your style, I'd say it's a good fit. Medium is kind of a different crowd. I don't know of any other forums or apps that has what Steemit offers - including the capabilities for expansion of interoperable blockchain apps and smart contract integration, especially with EOS coming soon.

only other potential app that might be a decent option is Minds.com

Sometimes I'm serious, sometimes verbose, sometimes to clarify, sometimes to make you think or wonder, sometimes not. I write as I see fit at that time. My "style" can be diverse.

I dipped into Steemit a bit, a while ago. I was unaware of the crash. The Steemit rewards are not my priority, but they are a logical evolution of social media, decentralization, liberty, etc. And with perseverance I might make something of my self here.

In the fall I was banned from Wikipedia for a year for being "another polite truther". A couple weeks ago I was banned and all of my content, along with other's content, was completely erased from Quora.com for "spamming" without example, explanation, reply, or recourse. I should have copied off my Quora content because I spend countless hours crafting good answers and the occasional good questions - and the WayBack machine was blocked. Censorship unleashed.

When one door closes... blah blah blah. I'd been thinking about this a LOT lately but now it's settled, decided for me in a way, to change course.

Here's a short preview project summary of my detailed forthcoming series of posts.

Since its launch I forgot about Medium until you capitalized it with a crowd. Recently I heard about Yours.org that may grant rewards like Steemit.

I'm on Minds.com, though have yet to do anything there.

I don't Gab anymore.

InfoGalactic (stupid name) by default won my search for a wiki as I found no better options. The RationalWiki community isn't really rational, and WikiSpooks is very slow, also with a poor name. Wikia is owned by the same corporate overlords as Wikipedia. After Wikipedia banned me I settled in on InfoGalactic where the Alt-Right author owner lets people (like me, an anarcho-Marxist) contribute uncensored without establishment-rigged rules of Wikipedia or Quora. (Citing sources, fringe or otherwise, is still critically important.) I really like the MediaWiki format of Wikipedia and it's forked InfoGalactic. I've tried to encourage InfoGalactic to expand what their wiki could be beyond a copied, poorly updated, and fringe-embracing version of Wikipedia, especially if User Pages became something more social their site might bloom. User pages could be a valuable resource tool for folks to freely contribute and update non-encyclopaedic articles (like collaborative screen writing, etc) in a fundamentally different medium format than is locked in here at Steemit. I have yet to research image hosting sites. I'll use YouTube until banned primarily because it's popular and accessible, as well as Vimeo (better quality) and BitChute the new YouTube/Bittorrent-type fusion as alternative backups.

Until I learn of better resources or I'm blocked somehow, thus far I'll be primarily utilize Steemit, InfoGalactic, and YouTube + plus BitChute, Vimeo, Minds, and Gab as support + plus an image hosting site yet to be determined.

Sorry, not sorry, for the length because I may also re-edit this into my project treatment posts.