You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ivan on Tech debates Peter Schiff - Bitcoin vs Gold, US Dollar Crash

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Great interview. Nice job, man. Peter is an interesting guy. I think his call in 2008 was impressive. Before I became a cryptocurrency investor, I listened to his podcasts. I still respect him, but I don't know why he is so absolutely sure Bitcoin will not survive. I'm in it for the long run because I believe in the good it will do for society and because I think it is a good investment, but it does unnerve me when intelligent investors say it will go to zero. I do think it is a good idea for long term investors to take back some profit and leave the rest in. I have taken back some of my initial investment to protect myself. However, the rest I'm leaving in for the long run. I plan to use it someday. It is true, I can't use Bitcoin now (transaction fees and speed). I know that will be fixed though.

At the same time, Peter often says maybe some other cryptocurrency will take over Bitcoin. As far as I am concerned, fine. That is capitalism. I love Bitcoin and would love to see it become an everyday currency (not just a store of value), but if Litecoin or Dash win the game, that means cryptocurrencies will be a success. It almost seems like he is debating against his point. I mean, he says Bitcoin will fail and I assume he means cryptocurrencies will fail, but then he admits another coin might surpass Bitcoin... in other words, he is saying cryptocurrencies will be a success.

Also, Ivan, I like how you pointed out that cryptocurrencies are just currencies. There are many uses of blockchain technology.