Took over a month to sell! Is Bitcoin bubkiss?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I bought some Bitcoin a few years ago. Not much. Only 0.13 bitcoin. It has had wonderful returns. I wish I had put more focus on investing in Bitcoin, but am always cash strapped because of constantly investing in real estate. Oh well. I used Coinbase and purchasing it was quite smooth. However, when I went to sell recently, on June 15th, my transaction puttered out. It took a good 7 emails and just over a month later to reinstate my transaction. Not ideal.

Will the new changes fix this? Is this a coinbase thing? I understand the basics of bitcoin but not the complicated innards.

This tortoise could be the speed of transactions or me trying to understand bitcoin. giant-tortoise-reptile-shell-walking-162307.jpeg

Sort:  

Coinbase is notorious for having delayed transactions when people are panic selling or manic buying. This 30+ days seems long even for them.

It has nothing to do with Bitcoin. I couls sell and finalise the transaction within 15 minutes. 1 minute doing the work, 14 minutes for sufficient confirmations. That's not an exhhange sale of course. I consider it suicidal to use an exchange for taking fiat out. You need something more direct.

What should I use then? Like I said I'm not great at all this stuff.