Faucets Are For Suckers - Coinpot, Or "How To Make Less Than $0.0004 Per Click"

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Coinpot 1.png

Not to be confused with Potcoin.

In the interest of science, I have recently experimented with the "cryptocurrency faucet game." I don't find this worthy of anyone's time, but I know "free anything" is interesting for many people, and I was getting questions about it, so here's the best place to start, and why you shouldn't bother to do it.

Coinpot seems to be the easiest/best multi-wallet for using faucets, and they even provide bonus tokens for each claim. You'll get a lot of extra value (relatively speaking) in both convenience and token bonuses by using Coinpot. All you do is use the same address to sign up for CoinPot as you do for the various supported faucets (7-8, atm, BTC, BCH, Dash, Doge.) If you want referral links, pop to the link in my Sources section at the bottom; I didn't bother to get mine.

Coinpot 3.png

I think I can retire after my 11 claims.

As you can see, the interface is attractive and well organized. All the information you could ask for is here. There's even 2FA to protect your penny-candy money.

Here's what the main supported Bitcoin faucet, Moon Bitcoin, looks like after you've been forced to disable your ad-blockers:

Coinpot 4.png

Malware forecast - Heavy.

I have avoided bothering with these in the past (outside the occasional roll on the Biz_Classic Ark faucet), owing to the stupendously low payouts. Frankly, in most cases, these faucets cost you more to click them than to do nothing. Your mouse does wear out after all, and you need to use calories.

I'm not just joking, either. Your average mouse is designed with tactile switches to last "only 100,000" clicks or more (gamers regularly record 3-5 million clicks per year or more.) Add to this the electricity, cost of time, human energy, captcha keyboard strokes...this isn't an entirely free task.

This is all particularly relevant when you are receiving .00000030 Bitcoin per click -> refresh -> click > captcha > click submit "cycle."

Coinpot 2.png

This is your payout per claim, base. 20% of one cent.

However, I can remember a time when Bitcoin faucets spit out fractions of Bitcoin that would be wholly unsustainable today. It's possible these amounts of crypto would be relevant in the future.

Nevertheless, the time wasted on these faucets could be used for almost any venture, even checking arcades for quarters, and it would be more profitable. If you're clicking faucets, you're some sort of advertising-wage-slave making penny(ies) per day.

The potential cost of getting Mal-ware alone through the various advertiser-laden faucet sites is enough to make this a non-starter. Your advertising data and browsing habits alone are worth more than you are receiving in return.

Faucets are for suckers. Get a job, loser.

Try SteemEngine and get rewarded for every follow or vote! / https://steemengine.net/join?r=1983
See my explanation of SteemEngine here.

Post via Busy.org for added exposure and upvotes from Busy!
See how to get extra votes from Busy.org here.

See my explanation of SmartSteem here.

Try SteemFollower today and get rewarded for every vote!
See my explanation of SteemFollower here.

PAL Logo.gif

Join us at the Minnow Support Project! (click me)
We also have a Radio Station! (click me)
...and a 10,000+ active user Discord Chat Server! (click me)

Join the Steemit Poker League! (@spl)
World's Largest Cyptocurrency Freeroll Poker Site, open only to Steemians!

Sources: Google, Cryptocurrencyhub.io, https://cryptocurrencyhub.io/how-to-make-900-to-2-million-on-coinpot-in-1-yr-a17b28fb3056?gi=6dfc8fd70396
Copyright: SmartSteem, PALNet, SPL, The Offspring, Coinpot, MoonBitcoin

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Where I live you need to make 27,500 clicks per hour to reach minimum wage.

I am not fan of free coins. However, I am not judging anyone who are using it. I think if your newbie to Crypto Space you need to stock pile your knowledge and try something for free and build some level of confidence before putting your hard earned money on this volatile market. Great post @lexiconical

The best way to make free bitcoin and ethereum is by taking Surveys using Bituro. I wrote about it here. I have made over $30 in the past 1 week just timing my surveys right with the amount of points awarded.

https://steemit.com/money/@heyimsnuffles/bituro-app-do-surveys-to-earn-crypto-bitcoin-and-ether-straight-to-coinbase

Try It

the faucets that gives you few satushi i think it just real waste of time

Coinpot faucet can make a good amount but it is basically a MLM scheme. The only way to actually make a good amount is to get a lot of referrals and never miss a day. Once you have a lot of referrals I have seen people make hundreds of dollars a day.

Agreed, but now we're back to doing quite a bit of work, and if you're willing to work and be that reliable every day, you might as well do almost anything else.

The people that do this generally use spam techniques.

I started out with faucets and have fond memories of it. Let me understand the basics of crypto and build off from there. Of course it truly took a lot of time and energy but I would not call it a total waste. At the very least on coinpot you can earn your crypto and convert to doge for the free transaction fee payout.

I agree, I found it a great stepping stone to test the waters. Somthing to play with while I began to understand crypto.

I will never understand people, who think that their time is worth less then $0.01 an hour. I like free coins, I like airdrops and bounties, but faucets it's a joke.

Very interesting....

This has anything to do with Pot?
D.

They use it to drive traffic to sites .It's mostly those new to the cryptosphere that get caught up in the faucet game.

I had a go on the faucets a few months back. Such a waste of time for so little, i agree!

Most of them also have a minimum withdrawal and i didnt even get near to that!

If you use all faucets from coinpoit, you will reach the payout very fast, you can convert all to one currency like dogecoin and you can payout weekly!

"Most of them also have a minimum withdrawal and i didnt even get near to that!"

This is the hidden secret to how they work. They actually pay out way less than they show, because most people don't ever get a withdrawal.

You can't really fault them, though, given somebody has to pay the transaction fee.

Yeah i figured that out pretty quickly. Most people will be like me and not even claim any rewards - and yes I agree this is how they work

Ha... my upvote gives much more than those faucets lol and I don't even have much voting power.

Faucet farming was one of the first things I did when I got into crypto and it’s was at a time when faucets spit out an ok amount of crypto but I did the math and it really wasn’t worth my time it was just a fun hobby to claim every now and then because I’m always at my pc for work

But that’s not to say it’s not profitable there’s a few YouTube shills making decent coin shilling their referral links and making money off people trying to earn that minimum payout value! If you get enough suckers on your side then it’s going to get you paid!

You can also take those pennies to power up your steem account when the prices are right like right now!

I love this post, I did the faucet thing last year when I just started getting into crypto. It was a tremendous waste of time and energy.

Especially here on Steemit...you'd probably make far more posting, even if you are a minnow.

And that my friend is exactly what happened.

Did it help you learn anything about crypto, other than it was a waste of time/energy?

Well truth be told I did learn a lot about crypto from doing that, so from that perspective it was not a wast of time and energy.

Yeah it's sad and hilarious that people still try and use faucets while they can just get on Steemit and way outperform here.
Same as with home mining... I've already made more on Steemit than I owned in BTC from home mining when I did it in 2013/2014 and hodled all the way through the dip.

A while ago I posted on Reddit and spoke about Steemit in a thread about faucets and home mining. You know my writing style, I tried to paint an objective and clear picture. Unfortunately I was downvoted and insulted and told to 'go fuck off with your scamcoin'. Home-mining and faucet-clicking is obviously much 'better'......

I don't understand why it's so hard to convince people to try Steemit. I've tried to convince half a dozen people in RL too and none of them even made an account yet.

Lots of interesting questions, few good answers.

Steem is often treated as some sort of ponzi-lite because of the inflationary model.

Paul Watson mentioned steemit and d.tube in an interview with stefen molyneux ( jump to the 57 minute mark, in video below ). They are going to continue fighting the youtube censors, more publicity that way (Streisand effect). There are already quite a bit of natural law libertarians media personalities tapping into steem, but if something as large and controversial as infowars made the switch-well just be glad you got in early. Those who called it a scam coin could have played around in the steemit social expirement and hodl without scamming anyone, and let reality be the judge. But they made their choice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=3420&v=5LFXDKrPJZk
@stefan.molyneux

This is a great article. The whole idea of faucets plays on the illusion that easy money can be had. Just the threat of malware from these sketchy sites should be enough to scare people off. But the promise of easy money tickles the greed monster that hides inside each of us. We all need to keep that beast chained up in the basement,

Again. Great post!

greed monster - beast chained up -- i kept laughing inside my mind reading this. its true.
but i am learning too. these faucets and all...

There are some faucets out there that could be automated say using a java robots class for example the sliding puzzle piece capchas. I don't do such a thing, and if enough bots exploited them they will just switch to a more difficult capcha system.

I basically use two faucets as a morning wake up routine. pokebits and eobot, then pokebits at night. Eobot is maybe worth half a cent which is a joke, and may only be useful for doge. At a lvl 14 shop in pokebits, at the current exchange rate I am getting 442 satoshi every day plus 130 satoshis per quest. So at the current exchange rate, about 700 satoshis for just a few clicks. (go to pokebits, close spam window, log in, goto pokeshop, click collect, go to quest list, click finish quest, capcha or two, another click, start quest) twice a day.
Already reached maxed level satoshi wars, so that isn't in my daily routine. Basically 480 points of their digital currency a day even for not logging in. So whenever the price of bitcoin is low (like it is now) I can convert their digital points into satoshi (presently 1:0.61). Supposing I went 30 days without a log in, that would be 480x30x.61=8784 satoshi if I logged in today and converted.

still waiting for my coinstarter coins. I accumulated quite a bit from their daily log in incentive prior to their ICO. I think I accumulated enough free coins to exceed what one bitcoin could purchase during the ico. I don't think that bodes well for investors, but holding bitcoin wasn't a good idea either.

Yeah, no getting rich that way. But they aren't all terrible-just most of them are. Trying to do earncrypto again since crypto is so cheap at last look-not the best use of the engageme platform since other websites pay better. But not too many ads locally here for the engageme system.

Great outline, but I still think it probably wasn't worth all that clicking and time!

Faucets, my dear friend are a total waste of time. The money generated there is not worth the time spent on them. Writing a steemit article is 1000 times better than clicking on those faucet captchas.

I have to completely agree. Nevertheless, I get asked often enough that I finally just decided to post about it.

Forcing you to disable adblocker and the chance for your histories is indeed more than the pennies you can receive. If BTC is to reach $1m some day however, it could turn from pennies into a lot more, much like the early facuets would've been worth now I suppose. Still an adventure I wouldn't embark on lol.

"much like the early facuets would've been worth now I suppose."

This is exactly the logic that causes people to ask about them. It's not very good. In reality, you could have made way more crypto performing almost any other paid task and simply buying it back then, so the idea that "prices were so low" doesn't really wash.

When you live in a country with hyperinflation and where the salary of an office job is the equivalent of 3USD, faucets are a smarter way to invest your time than going every day to an office.

It's nice scheme but not for miner but for the faucet owner :) For me its waste of time as when you calculate the outcome of the mined coin it will get you nothing on what you've invested. Instead of concentrating on faucet you can make more taking airdrops i believe.

There was a guy in Poland who gets from this 15.000 EUR. When BTC tops.
... but he was doing that when BTC price was really low.
He also could buy BTC using money form any job and today he could gets - hundred of thousands or milion.
So yea - this is huge loose of the time.

Very informative, thanks for sharing. I've smashed the upvote button for you!

If you are looking to get hold of some crypto without investing or mining, look into https://www.crowdholding.com. They are a co-creation platform were you get rewarded for giving feedback to crypto startups on the platform. You can earn Crowdholding's token as well as DeepOnion, ITT, Smartcash and many other ERC-20 tokens.

hi upvoted please can you do the same thanks

help full material dear @lexiconical
great work dear @lexiconical.
worth full shearing dear keep your work up !!
best of luck @lexiconical

How can you do that? interesting that's a knowledge for me. thanks @lexiconical.

Too ez free money

I think the best place for fans of free is AIRDROPS
https://goo.gl/PGDVGa

I agree, in general, they are a waste of time. But if you are starting in the world of cryptocurrencies and you need to give a boost to what you are doing there are some faucets that can help you do it. Personally, coinpot and freedodge has allowed me to do enough to buy some steem and ether for Lunyr. If you do not have to mine at home or capital to start the faucets are an alternative. 😄

Best FREE Multicoin Faucets List 2018
Updated 21st September 2018

Bitcoin FREE PTC Websites List 2018
Updated 21st September 2018

Bitcoin FREE Cloud Mining Websites List 2018
Updated 21st September 2018

Bitcoin Free Faucets List 2018
Updated 21st September 2018

My Youtube Channel

Thanks You Everyone
:)

I love this post.upvoted you.

Hidden secret

Do the claim once a day only and you will get much more!
If you wait up tu 24 hour, you will get currently about 75 satoshi .
If you do it every day, your Daily bonus raises up tu 100%, if you have acitv referals you get an aditional bonus up to 100%, also there is an optional bonus up to 100% (Mysterybonus)...

So you can get much more for one click.

The faucets you can use with coinpot are the highest paying faucets. I don't know better one. They pay about 2-3 times more than other faucets.

Now you get also Coinpot Tokens (3 Token for every Claim ~ 4,4 Satoshi, 1 Token per referral claim).

Thanks good article I guess people are just hoping bitcoin moons dramatically making 0.00003 worth something :p

I say free is free. When I’m bored I jump on the faucets and I’ve make near $100 by converting everything into litecoin. Sooooooooo... Why ya gotta hate?

Did you read it?

I've filled out surveys online for $10 before. You could've done something else and made $100 in far less time.

Start by googling opportunity cost.

I do this stuff while I’m at work to kill time. I’ve scoured the internet for good ways to make money if you know some better ways please let me know.

how about creating a post on steemit? ;-)

Quanta cryptocurrentexchange FREE 250$
akankah (29) in free • 5 hours ago
https://quantadex.com/?ID=1wYv9zkyWBqP

Join the pre-register phase, and get $250.

Free $250 to first 100K users
+50% on all tools on Quanta Store

WHY QUANTA?
Quanta's on-chain settles in record time of 3s per block and our off-chain matching engine delivers over 4.5m tx/sec with end-end signature verification.
Trade transactions are signed and sent to the blockchains. Once settled, transactions are immutable to any party.
Accounts are protected with BIP38 used to sign in along with your password. If you lose either the key or password, you will not be able to log in.

THE FUTURE OF
DECENTRALIZED
EXCHANGES


In less than 2 weeks 0,109 SBD. It is not so hopelessly.

So, that's like what, $10 a year?

How much that electricity and time costing you?

So, that's like what, $10 a year?

Ya, that's true. But still more than 0.

How much that electricity and time costing you?

In this case a computer doesn't work all time. It isn't mining.
I go to Coinpot once a day and it takes no more than 15 minutes.

thanks for your post

I was amazed with your income, can I like it, or there can I cooperation with you, please provide opportunities uantuk I Mr.

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
ARKArk1.814$-11.88%-35.68%
BCHBitcoin Cash633.820$-9.49%-35.3%
BTCBitcoin6526.870$-8.24%-23.91%
DASHDash287.100$-11.13%-31.15%

You got a 3.52% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @lexiconical!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Moon faucets are the biggest shit ever.
Faucets are good,but only for new coins!Where you get decent amount of coins,that with time maybe get some value and you can cash out.
1 year ago i collected rai blocks faucet (XRB),i got 101 xrb,the price of xrb went to 0.0025 btc!that's 0.25 BTC for 101 xrb!
So..sometimes it pays out,but only if you are lucky.

I personnally use faucets on a daily basis, it just became a habit since I got into cryptocurrencies, a simple solution that I found out because adblock has to be disabled, is the add-on called ghostery, it doesnt completely block the ads but their content is blocked so I guess it's fine to avoid any malware / tracker etc. Honestly I spend 1 min a day for the 7 faucets for coinpot , I didn't get rich with it but it allows me to exchange some bitcoins from faucets for low price cryptos so it makes it worth it imo. (sorry for bad english)

Faucets are only good if that minute amount that you get of a future star crypto shoots up in value. There was once a time when one could probably mine bitcoin with a CPU, but those days are well and truly gone now; the same could also be said of chances of ever making money with faucets.

Faucets it's nice job for people which can't work normal, its possible to make min 2000USD/year from claiming faucets.But if you live in place where you got 5USD/month for hard work, you will be rich!!!

Quite an interesting content.

Hi @lexiconical
Excellent article. I subscribed to your blog. I will follow your news.
I will be grateful if you subscribe to my blog @user2627
Good luck to you!

The best thing about that is it still pay compare to the Bitconnect oops I did it again.. I just lost my interest to continue after they added the last crypto ... and the link keep on targeting more its luring to another web address it looks suspicious and as a result I stop the clicking for it...cheers.

ja ich selber benutze auch coinpot. Und ich erreiche mit 2 bis 3 mal am tag auf die seite zu schauen und zu klicken. ca 700 satoschi am tag . Aber richtig geld verdienen kann man ohne ref nicht verdienen. Das einzige was mir nicht so gefällt ist coinpot zu viel werbung . es ist leider so das die werbung zu 90 % spam anbieter sind. Und leider neue user die noch nicht so erfahrung haben. schnell auf die werbung rein fallen und ihr geld damit verloren geht. moonseiten die man ja verwenden muss.

What you saying is very true. None of these faucets are worthed the time and energy. Actually.
The only way to make money from these, as you said, is hoping in a sudden change of bitcoin value, so all the little coins you have will be something more. But still, hard to become a millionaire :))

Ive actually made hella money marketing these and getting 1000's signed up under me on coinpot. The real money is using those earning to pick up pre ICO coins for cheap . think of exchanging a dying crypto for the boom. Http://satoshipapi.io Arbitrage is the future

I'm selling http://satoshicash.io if anyone is interested

I've been using faucets before but when I met steemit and trading, I stopped. It takes forever to earn with faucets unless you have thousands of referrals.

There are 2 pages
Pages