You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Planned Collapse Of The Economy Has Begun

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I'm sorry if I'm being presumptuous but I think you don't totally understand how bitcoin works. The only way for someone to steal my bitcoins is if they get my "private key." As long as I keep my private key safe, my bitcoins are safe. Many people put their bitcoins on a cryptocurrency exchange so that they can trade their bitcoins. When you do this, the exchange has the private key to your bitcoin. If someone hacks the exchange, they can steal the private keys and thus the bitcoin. This is not a flaw with bitcoin any more than bank robberies are are a flaw with the USD. In both cases it was the exchange or bank's fault. If someone stole my bitcoins without my private key, that would be "hacking" bitcoin. The thefts you are referring to are, I assume, when someone hacks an exchange.
Hope this helps!
For what it's worth, I am a huge fan of precious metals as well! :)

Sort:  

forget the word hacked and try to listen to the point

Is your point that it can be stolen if you don't protect it? Because that goes for any asset.. You will always have people who are careless and thieves who will take advantage of them. Try googleing credit card theft... much easier than stealing bitcoins.