Bitcoin Private, another fork, another scam

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Maybe there are a few steemians that got involved with this fork when it came out, after all, forks were back in the day the way to get "free money" and aside from all the scams and the scams, there were also some scams to be found



img src

Before I got rid of all the tokens I know I won't ever use, I used to hold on to a bag of Zclassic and because of this, I also had a bag of this fork, Bitcoin Private. Thankfully, I did sell it when it was up in the 20's even though I had lost considerably by holding both ZClassic and BTCP, but stopping the carnage was probably a good thing, more so because I see little to no future in these two projects if I'm honest.

However, ever since I held a wallet and had the pertaining software installed on my linux computer, I've always gone back to see, if selling my bag was still a good decision. Mind you, not the best of activities to be partaking of, but one that I've been a participant of for the better part of this year.

Come to find out however, that BTCP had "premined" and hidden the activity from their supporters, and got called out for it. "What?" You see, I'm all for privacy, gosh, that's one of the reasons why I think monero is going to be one of those who makes it, but this is precisely why the way such privacy is implemented matters. Having the ability to hide a premine is scary to say the least.

The devs have responded to the accusation and for what it's worth, they did not deny it, how could they? However, the solution is horrid and In my opinion is going to kill their scamcoin which now thinking about it, is probably a good thing.



In simple english my friends, the hodlers who are unlucky enough to get caught in the crossfire of their scam, will simply lose all their tokens, and the sales pitch concludes with "it would help us fix the supply issue".

I think their days are numbered, I think this one is down for the count and I would not be surprised if this Bitcoin fork is done for before 2019 shows up.

@meno

Sort:  

I was vocally stating this fork was as scammy as they get and I hope you all remember who the people pushing this shitcoin on the steem community were. Some of them have track records of this behavior and ongoing projects. Just saying, there's a reason I won't go near a lot of projects anymore. People show their true colors and falling for their shit repeatedly starts to become both parties responsibility.

I can't remember who was shilling it to be honest, but I'll do a searchy search ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I did a small post about ZClassic, just to let know that there was a fork coming, when it was at 15$...It went up to 250, so if people got greedy it's their fault only. I have no affiliation with their team in no way shape or form, just to clarify

Nobody blames you fratello

Posted using Partiko Android

I was never convinced by this one either and did not even claim them as I never share my keys unless it is a sure thing. The more of these implode, the better to raise attention for these to stop occuring... Without it, it raises concerns for the legitimacy of the space in its quest to increase adoption.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Should have sold my Bitcoin Private. Didn't have much, but at least STEEM would have been better than it.

I've just found out this one existed (about 30 mins ago) and still wondering if anyone could take it seriously... then I find this post lol

A: I have no idea what you're talking about, and B: damn am I glad I don't speculate.

There's something to be said for the old adage: Twolegs is Twolegs...

And Merry Christmas, while we're at it! 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @meno :) | For investors.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.115 which ranks you at #271 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 261 contributions, your post is ranked at #6.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post was upvoted by SteeveBot!

SteeveBot regularly upvotes stories that are appreciated by the community around Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.