Anarchists & Cryptos

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

I, unfortunately, do not own any bitcoin. I had an opportunity to buy 10 bitcoins in 2009 for around 100$ each from a friend who was trying to get rid of them. At the time I was in 3rd year university and did not have the means to dump 1000$ on a crypto. I look back on that and realize, I probably wouldn't have hung onto them for this long anyways, so regardless, I don't feel a loss, but it is nice to imagine...


The thing that has always drawn me to the crypto currencies is the desire to decentralize the bank. To make a currency that is not tied to a bank makes sense to me. It's a reset. But now with the bitcoin futures, the 'decentralization' isn't really as untied as it once seemed. There is too much at stake and it has all come full circle. It, like any other product, is tied to the value of the USD and therefore has lost its appeal to me.

I feel there are still those who started in this (crypto) for the reasons of wanting a change, of wanting something different and now with the futures market opening up, I wonder how they are feeling. Are you still a rogue? Do you still feel ahead of the curve? When is crypto just another product, hyped beyond belief, with news and social media blowing things out of proportion? 

In my own opinion, the moral and technological structure bitcoin and other cryptos were founded on, have started to dissolve and I am super curious to see when the floor is going to drop out of this and people shift their money into the next thing.

When will the people who founded this movement cash out and leave it all behind?


I think Wisecrack said it best today, in talking about the philosophy of Fight Club "In rebelling against a system that made them faceless drones, they become, well, faceless drones"