You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Reduce Your Bitcoin Transaction Fees in up to 80%

in #bitcoin6 years ago

When I started experimenting with Bitcoin I remember sending change I got from a faucet between wallets for a fee of 0.02$. I guess those days are long over.

One thing I should point out is that Electrum does offer users SegWit transactions. Unfortunately most wallets won't send to it because it uses bench32 addresses when using SegWit.

Also, regarding updates for numerous companies on both SegWit and Bench32; I know it takes time, but they do employ groups of developers to develop. It seems most wallets are lagging behind, although maybe it's just expecting too much.

Sort:  

I know Electrum and also Mycelium support SegWit addresses, I guess I forgot to mention them. I think it does take some time to get it right, and huge companies like Coinbase can't afford mistakes. Nevertheless, I still think it's up to us users to make sure they're doing their best to get it going. Hopefully we'll see those fees begin a steep descent in 2018.