You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memo, a decentralized social media network on Bitcoin blockchain

in #bitcoin5 years ago

I think the main problem of Steem is new users leaving the network after a couple of days. It's very complicated for the average user. I had to read 100 articles just to learn the basics. Also they come with the impression that they will make easy money. And some of the old Steem marketing is to blame for that. Finally, it's the quality of content and user experience. The engagement feels fake. Most of the posts are about Steem or cryptocurrencies. And the boring photos of course. And they don't change the way posts appear on the home page. You see the same people who promote their posts. Minnows feel like they don't have a chance. And the whales instead of proposing solutions, are fighting each other in a crazy drama.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yes, I agree. Steem is not an easy place to get into. It is easier if you are part of a community first. But I think that applies to most social networks. The dapps might make that easier... or not. The money thing is a side issue I think (but you are right, that has been promoted unfairly. Less so since the fall in the crypto market, maybe). Until recently I have been lucky to get more than 50cents a post. You have to be here because you want to, and the only way that happens is if you find a group of people to interact with. For me it was the freewrite group. As for the whales, I ignore them.

Posted using Partiko Android