You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BITCOIN BREAKS THROUGH CEILING! - The Rise of Decentralized Cryptocurrency with @StephenKendal

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Thanks for this great interview @joshsigurdson and @StephenKendal.

Its fascinating how many people often just look at price when considering an asset and forget entirely about scarcity. Remember too that a lot of bitcoins were permanently lost. While impossible to know, I think 3 million lost is a good estimate. Just last week, on a lark, I attached an old hard drive I had stashed in my closet and discovered 1.7 bitcoins. I was lucky, those could easily have been lost forever. There are lots of stories of miners losing coins to hard drive crashes and other mishaps.

Also interesting is that while bitcoin is scarce, it's simultaneously highly divisible with 1 BTC = 100,000,000 satoshis. Paying a $1 for 100 satoshis doesn't seem too ridiculous right? There's our million dollar bitcoin!

Sort:  

This concept of the bitcoin is new to me. I have to read up about hardware and bitcoin. 🙄#hopeful