Genesis Mining -- 55 Day Update

in #bitcoin7 years ago

It's been now already 55 days since I'm mining Bitcoin with a 40 TH contract on Genesis Mining.

I have to confess that I was very suspicious of Genesis Mining before buying the contract and even afterwards I was. The time, when I bought the contract, just fell into that period when they had massive payout delays of 3 or more days.

Basically I wasn't sure whether GM was a scam and whether we would ever be able to reach a break-even point and get back our investment.

I did research but I couldn't find many longtime studies which showed the effect of increasing mining difficulty on the mining rewards.

Therefore I decided to do one myself and luckily the picture gets clearer after 55 days of mining with GM.

Let's have a look at the daily payout statistic:

2017-10-13 (1).png

Well, what should I say? Overall, I find the experience to be very pleasant. If we'd draw a trend line into the graphic, it would yield a slightly descending slope (-0.00002 BTC per day).

With other words: during the whole 55 day-period I mined almost constantly around 0.008 BTC per day.

There was only once some sort of major setback which can be explained by a strong increase in mining difficulty.

2017-10-13 (2).png

What I found, however, to be rather puzzling is the seemingly random increase/decrease in payouts, while the mining difficulty stayed the same.

I can only hypothesize that the payouts went up, when contracts of other users came to an end (causing the cake being divided between fewer parties) and that the payouts came down, because we just had "bad luck" with mining and we found fewer blocks.

Overall, I'm very satisfied with how things are going:

2017-10-13.png

My initial investment was 1.28 BTC (which equaled roughly $5400 at the time). I earned so far 0.45 BTC, which is about 1/3 of my initial investment.

If things continue that way, I will reach the break-even point after 133 days and the total contract duration would be roughly 445 days until the daily payout reaches 0.

I would receive a total payout of roughly 2 BTC, which equals a Return on Investment of 158%.

I'd be quite happy with such a result, because it means, that I've got more Bitcoin back, than I've put in.

I've seen some people making the mistake and calculating their returns against the amount of USD that they've invested ("I mined Bitcoin that are worth $2'560").

However, by doing so, they forget that they could have bought Bitcoin with the money that they've invested in Mining instead. It follows that your goal should be to earn more BTC and you've invested and not earning more USD than you've invested.

But never mind.

The important question is how things will develop after the new Bitcoin mining contracts get activated on the end of October.

It means that the same cake is going to be distributed between more parties and therefore I'm afraid that payouts will go down significantly.

But that would be the subject of the next update ;-)


If you think that this article was helpful, I'd be happy if you leave a comment, an upvote or share it with your friends :-)

Sort:  

Brilliant article. You read my mind. I'm waiting for the end of the month/beginning of the November when GM will start their bitcoin contracts again. Have no idea what to wait. Will it be the same conditions or a little bit poor, because of the huge interest in bitcoins. Any way I would be very happy to expand my contract on the same unlimited conditions :) My contract it's much smaller then yours, but still get's me some bitcoins. In the case you decide to make upgrade, i will be very happy if you use my code: Xlqpk9
For all other readers - JOIN, it's free: https://www.genesis-mining.com/a/577210
And it's our future!!
I upvoted your article, and will share it.
Happy mining!!

I mine now over 1 Year with Genesis Mining. It's great!
Sadly is just that all contracts with BTC are sold out! :(

Oh wow, that's quite a moment! How much did your payout-rate drop since then? And did you earn back what you've invested?

Actually, the payout-rate raised! The amount of BTC dropped but because of the rising price, I gain more each day then at the beginning. I think I got my investment after​ 150day back. So I really would like to buy more hashpower​. :)
The DASH payout increased after one year like crazy. I got the investment after 130 days back. But know I get almost nothing because of ​ the difficulty rise like crazy. But it was also worth​ it.
So at the moment, ​I wouldn't buy Hashpower in the DASH sector.

Ok, that's good news – I stell have 2/3 of the road to break-even to go ^^ Maybe have a look in the 31th of October. The last time they offered new BTC contracts I could secure 15TH and the contracts start on the 31th of October. I could imagine that they sell new contracts on that day.

I will check it out at the 31. October if they have new contracts.
Thank you for the tipp! Ah and wirte me your Affiliate Code, so I can use it the next time.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! Readers might be interested in similar content by the same author:
https://steemit.com/mining/@pascalwitzig/genesis-mining-55-day-update

Yaya love you too :*

Congratulations @pascalwitzig! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!