Bitcoin.org has reason to suspect that the binaries for the upcoming Bitcoin Core release will likely be targeted by state sponsored attackers.

in #bitcoin8 years ago

https://bitcoin.org/en/alert/2016-08-17-binary-safety

I thought this was interesting. I mean, we know that some states, like USA basically "target" the entire internet, but I wonder how the admins became aware of this and what the details are.

Also interesting is this part, "We believe Chinese services such as pools and exchanges are most at risk here due to the origin of the attackers."

Sort:  

If I was a miner I would always be checking signatures of everything I downloaded, and I would not do upgrades until they had been in the wild for a while and all the easy exploits are found and patched. Actually, I may become a miner of some kinds of cryptos in the near future so this is a good warning and reminder.

Apparently this warning did not go through the normal checkin process for postings to the bitcoin.org website and no one but the poster, cobra, has any info.

Congratulations @pigeons! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!