You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bittrex - Update - Probably my Fault.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Could be you did nothing wrong and someone accessed your screen through a remote access tool (or rat). They could have recorded you and got your key that way. Do you keep a text file or screenshot of your keys on your PC? Have you run a virus scan? Maybe you logged in using Tor or VPN?

Sort:  

I dont use tor or a vpn but the screenshot part i might be guilty of with a few things.. But i dont think i took any screenshots of the actual API keys. I have run a scan. Actually ran it twice today to be certain.

Some rats are hard for anti-virus tools to detect because of the ports used. I would reformat your HD and re-install your OS just to be sure they are not using this method. Anyway, it sucks what they did to you. Some people are shit humans.

I was thinking about reformatting today...I think it might be a good idea incase. Thanks for the advice.

I would reformat everything, even smartphone/ipad, and change some passwords. Once somebody from the US hacked into my paypal and started withdrawing everything. Those fuckers...