You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unpopular Opinion: Satoshi’s Vision is a Pipedream. + 1SBD for the Best Counterargument

in #bitcoin6 years ago

History is riddled with unactualized ideologies. Humans have tended to glorify an idea as though it is to be the end-all-be-all, upon which utopia is to be realized. Frankly, I feel there are many who view “decentralization” in the same way - looking to the concept as though it’s the holy grail, expecting far too much far too soon.

Is crypto changing the playing field? Absolutely.

To the degree subscribers to decentralization dogma would like? Of course not. And it never will. Welcome to reality.

Nonetheless, it is serving as a powerful vehicle of the notorious “wealth transfer.” Not to the degree of any Marxist ideal, though the positive benefit the tech has already brought to many is not worth disregarding. I’m only one of many on this platform who’ve transformed their financial life through the opportunities this has all allowed to be created, and that I’ve been able to support authors in third world countries replace their monthly income through contributing to this movement... well, that makes a difference. Period.

So if the ultimate grand vision of a decentralized ideal hasn’t materialized... so what. constructive progress is still being made.

At least, that’s my outlook on the matter...

Sort:  

Thanks for the upvote and comment Rok. I really did enjoy your original post and appreciate your views. Even with the things I have seen in the market I am invested and plan on being in for the long haul. I got in at the end of December so the only way my life has changed so far is by becoming more stressful, but I can see where things are headed. Once I am able to radically change the circumstances of my life I will be in a better position to influence the lives of those around me in a positive way. Thanks for the inspiration!