WhatsApp Crypto Wallet - That is a Mainstream Outlet for Sure

in #bitcoin5 years ago


Honestly, up until about a year ago I didn't even realize whatsapp was a legit app. I literally thought it was some kind of spam. Then I got introduced to people outside the U.S. and realized it is the most used messaging app elsewhere.

In fact, most Europeans don't use the regular text messaging provided with your phone carrier, but use whatsapp instead.

So when news of a crypto wallet coming to whatsapp hits I had to take notice.

Looks like it will be functional to send BTC with something as simple as texting "send 0.01 BTC to John Doe."

I will attached a link to a news article, but from what I am seeing it is basically a software agent being provided by Wuabit

You can read more here: https://coinbeat.com/a-whatsapp-cryptocurrency-wallet-is-set-for-release/

Let the spread of crypto accessibility continue!



Published by ScaredyCatGuide

on

with SteemPress
https://mentormarket.io/cryptocurrencies/scaredycatguide/whatsapp-crypto-wallet-that-is-a-mainstream-outlet-for-sure/


Sort:  

I live in the Uk and have 3 family whatsapp groups involving the children, parents and the grandparents including our USA family, about 6 active groups for work on different subjects and also 3 groups for childrens sports to communicate with the various parents.
It's massive, use is so widespread and its becoming second nature to set up a group when you need to communicate with various people. It's great to have everything there in black and white (or in picture format) that everyone can see and for whatever reason works better than emailing. The fact that it's cross platform makes it easier than using iMessage or text messaging.
It's a winner and crypto integration could be huge.

Yeah, America is late to the game on using Whatsapp. I see how my German girlfriend uses it and so many groups for so many different events and anyone can use it easily regardless of phone type or carrier. Just the fact that any kind of crypto interaction will be available using the app is a big deal indeed!

🎁 Dear @p-props,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

You can't communicate with anyone in Latin America unless you have whatsapp. This is why I chuck $3 on my phone every couple of months just to keep the number active cos all I need is wifi. That said, it's not big in Australia either, but yeah, everywhere else it's pretty much a necessity.

Hey Choooooo! Yeah, literally THE app in europe and like you said just need wifi. I use the hell out of it all the time now to communicate with non-US folks.

Whatsapp is pretty much the only messaging service I'll use, due to it encrypted messaging service. As you've seemingly been informed, it's used by plenty of folk in the UK so it's not something that comes with the burden of losing touch with the majority(not always a burden though). Good to hear about this latest venture and thanks for the info, I'll be sure to have a gander -English slang for "take a look", just incase you didn't know that already ;) - Peace out brother!

Haha, cool mate! Yeah, the folks over in Germany use it almost exclusively too.

That's pretty cool. Though I can just as easily send crypto to someone on Steem. This might make it easier to send money to friends in other countries where they use WhatsApp more without trying to onboard them on Steem. But I don't have a lot of people to send money to that have WhatsApp. So, it all comes down to how it's done. If it's easy to BUY crypto and send it to a friend or someone that sells stuff, then this is incredibly great. But it seems to me that it's all in how it's done. Maybe I'll feel differently if I start traveling and end up using WhatsApp more. But aren't they owned by Facebook? That alone kinda scares me away.

I here that the counterpart in Asia is exactly like that from a payments perspective. I was just reading Facebook's latest conference call (weeks late) and read about their expectation to deploy payments to the App but wonder if it will be traditional banking or a crypto alternative. The space is about to heat up given Apple's recent announcement as well!

Apple's recent announcement? Crypto related?

Nice article! I had also heard of WhatsApp but did not know much about it. I hope they incorporate various coin wallets in the future.

Posted using Partiko iOS