Do Not Use Coinbase

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

There are better ways to exchange between crypto and USD.

bitcoin-3024279_1920.jpg

Notfun things at Coinbait

Yay for seemingly random denials of transactions. The latest (and final) situation: Yesterday I initiated a BTC sell and chose my PayPal account as recipient instead of my bank. It's been an option on Scambase for at least a few months now. I've used it many times. Anyway, the transaction seemed to go thru but then I got an email from Coinfakes saying my bank rejected the transfer. WTF does my bank have to do with that kind of transfer, from Cointhief to PayPal?! I was already seeking ways to abandon Coinflakes. That was the last straw. Moving the remainder of my goodies out of their domain.

Taxation is theft

And in case you didn't know, Queefbase shares data with the IRS and the new US rules are that US Citizens be taxed on every transaction. The banksters are doing everything they can to try to hold back the crypto tide.

Use LocalBitCoins.com

I hadn't used https://localbitcoins.com in years. Had intended to stop using Coinflakes but was a bit addicted to the convenience. Used localbitcoins yesterday. Wow. Easy and fast! And yay there are many more ways to get paid now! Including PayPal. Though that one may not last. And yay, better rates than Scambase.

And yay, with localbitcoins, for small-medium amounts, you don't have to identify yourself, other than with an email address. If you do an SMS ID, you can trade more with more people but I was able to find a great deal without that.

Alternatives?

Of course, localbitcoins.com will be gov's next target. Does anyone know if there exists or someone is working on a decentralized version of localbitcoins.com? One that allows for trading more than just BTC would rock!

Similar articles

Sort:  

I have used all these and mre..

Coinbase pissed me off first time I approached using my account. Goodbye.
Localbtc is the BEST and I have amassed a fortune there. Mostly with asian college kids..
Really like local cannabis growers that have no access to banks, in CA.

I sense just a tiny bit of anger in your post :) If you are a non-slave (not a us citizen) Wirex has been pretty great so far!

Heh yeah, a bit of anger from being taken advantage of by Coinbase and even more so by the US Gov. Sadly, yes, I'm a US Citizen, so can't use Wirex. But I'm actually super happy with LocalBitcoins.com - for now, until they are also hit by gov regulations and forced to KYC. But I anticipate 10 springing up for every one they take down. Yay for the future whackamole-ing!

I hear you. I am also whackamole-ing with offshore accounts. Seems the US pressures them constantly making them bad business partners even for non-us people.

My husband told me the exact same thing happened with him on Coinbase yesterday... but there was another bit of weirdness in there because Coinbase write and said they had cancelled his BUY order for LTC because the bank rejected it, when actually he had SOLD LTC to send to PayPal.

Have you looked into Bitsquares yet?

http://bisq.io

Dear This post is an informative post about cryptocurrency. Thank you very much