You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You Committing This Crypto Investing Sin?

in #bitcoin6 years ago

I love this attitude. It takes a lot to recognize one's own weaknesses and even more to try and work on them.

There's a method of learning I use that I adopted when first using Wikipedia (I want to make it a thing, I'll call it "Purple-linking").
Basically, when I was reading about something, and I came across a term I didn't know (usually with a blue hyperlink), I would click on that and read IT's page. If I came across something else I didn't know, I'd repeat the process.
After a while, you start "back-paging" up the ladder and come back to the original article, but with a more thorough understanding of the subject, so you retain even more when you read about it.

I think this is just a long-winded way of looking at knowledge as a tree, and forcing yourself to start from the base before revisiting the original topic you were interested in.

I'll admit that I'm very weak in ALL FOUR of the pillars mentioned in this video. You've inspired me to keep at it!!

Sort:  

Yes, I can see how "Purple-Linking" could be a powerful way of building up your knowledge base on a certain subject. I've been doing that by instinct but my challange with it is the drifting...Sometime, I open too many windows diving deeper in the topic, that I loose trail of my original point and just keep going. Although I do learn a lot, but there's the challenge of opening up many new concepts to learn about and time keep dragging to making a closing on my original point. From your words, I have a feeling you're in education / training / learning field.