South Africans investing in Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I've yet to speak to anyone in my circle of friends who knows much about Bitcoin. Its a concern... either I'm spending a hell of a lot more time on the net than anyone else or I just don't have many friends.
I learned about Bitcoin in 2015, after I had decided to go through some old stamp albums in the hope that I would find that one stamp, just one stamp which would unlock the door to my retirement . But, as you may have guessed, it was fruitless. Anyway, I was online, my ADD kicked in and before I knew it, I was looking at videos on the origins of money. From Mike Maloneys videos, I began to see the wisdom in keeping a little silver and gold. Then, after that December 2015 Nene axing , I was looking at investments that would be a good hedge against the inevitable crash in our Rand. At that time, Bitcoin was around R6000. After a small learning curve, I set up an account with BitX exchange,now Luno exchange, and by the end of 2016, had doubled my investment. Great stuff! But then I thought that I should 'Get out while ahead' , so I sold all my BTC in March this year, you know, just to play it safe... and BTC has pretty much doubled twice since then... I still cry sometimes at night. So! Am I getting back in? what would you do?

Sort:  

For those South Africans who dont know where to start, check out
https://www.luno.com/help/en/categories/1000000384

Congratulations @spike-on-steem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!