You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: $20,000 (7BTC) Stolen from Bittrex (captured live on video) Huge lesson learned

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Wow that's rough. I'm sorry man.

That's why I always tell people to buy in exchanges and store on external wallets. I wrote a post about it just a couple days ago but not many people viewed it. I've told close friends about it but they don't budge. I guess it's because keeping it on exchanges is so much easier to do than depositing it into a whole separate wallet.

Hope you stick with it and get through it though.

Sort:  

Yeah the only reason i kept anything on the exchange is because i have been full time trading, so to move it back and forth would be a pain in the butt...but at the end of the day any pain in the butt is worth doing to protect your funds.

Ya I feel you on that. It is annoying going through different addresses, I admit I do that too sometimes if I know I'm going to be trading something soon. Either way hopefully Bittrex does something about it. Will be following you and expecting an update!

Hey Stephcurry, I'm new to the whole crypto thing and just learning for now. Thanks for the tip. So the thing is to buy in exchanges and store on an external wallet ? I'll remember that one. Thanks. Phil

Yup its essential because exchanges don't personally store the crypto you purchase unlike external wallets. I wrote a post on the Exodus Wallet which I personally use along with two others, you can read more there.

Do you mine sharing that post about storing cryptocurrencies on external wallets? I would like to read it.