You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin: understanding the volatility and why not to worry

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Thanks for all the gems of info! I'm glad you are part of the community. I feel I am going to learn very much from you! As we speak many coins are being brought so make sure to diversify! I bought some more with the dip and it just went up. I think this pattern is going to keep up.

Sort:  

Thanks for your continued encouragement @theminimalists. I have already learned from you!

As a coincidence, I found myself thinking today about the matter of what trading among the robots entails that should concern us. I had the idea from my stock market experience; but did not express it.

It is that if you are short-term trader, you will find they use "different principles" to set up and execute trades (plus infinitely greater speed and consistency) than we humans do, so those of us in the crypto sphere who have grown up on how the trading scene looks when only humans are in the game are in for a shock.

I say “shock” because the Big Boys now coming into the space are surely bringing along trading robots, and you are no doubt aware that the more sophisticated of the robots are frighteningly smart (as traders). For example, they can adjust their programming code on the fly.

The robots drove me out of the stock market -- I gave up trying to deal with them, as I was not a buy-and-hold participant. (This is contrary to my strategy in the cryptos -- here I study carefully and try to find a mix positions each for which seems to promise a good shot of bringing big rewards years from today. So now I change settings only when I think I made a strategy error earlier on with a specific holding. And, as suspect you do, I make sure that I can sleep soundly if I lose 100% of any one position.)
Cheers!