EXODUS doesn’t support Bitcoin Cash - where to go?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

If you’re anything like me you’re doing some frantic researching at the moment, trying to figure out what the heck is going with the hard fork and Bitcoin Cash and how to make sure you’re positioned well. For example see my previous post on this: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@transptrader/bitcoin-cash-increase-my-bitcoin-position-or-not

Obviously like anyone else I want to make sure that the amount of Bitcoin I hold now is matched in BCC, especially since the futures are already trading over $400... (!) Who doesn’t want free money?

I have my bitcoin on Exodus and so I was hoping that they would automatically make BCC available in their wallet on August 1st. Not so lucky I’m afraid. This what they tweeted:

Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 2.41.36 pm.png

OK - so what’s next then? Well they explain a bit more in the responses to the the tweets:
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 2.35.40 pm.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 2.36.00 pm.png

OK so now we know we need to make sure to get our private key from Exodus, which is the SAME for BTC and BCC and "as long as BCC implements replay protection appropriately, which every indication states they will” we should be able to hold BTC in Exodus and BTC on whatever exchange/wallet we choose.

So first up is to secure our private key in Exodus. This is the way to do it:
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 2.36.31 pm.png

Then, we need to make sure we find a Bitcoin Cash exchange /wallet to import it to. if you follow the link to the BCC site, it tells you this:
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 2.37.15 pm.png

And these are the exchanges and wallets that will have BCC (status 27 July 2017, 2:50pm Sydney time):
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 2.37.37 pm.png.

I hope this helps, I haven’t gotten so far as to know how to import your private key into a new exchange / wallet but I’ll let you know as soon as I find this out. As always, DYOR!

Good luck to all, may the fork be with you (I can’t believe I just typed this).
Jeroen (aka The Transparent Trader)

Sort:  

Congratulations @transptrader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!