Why I got into Bitcoin

in #bitcoin6 years ago

About four years ago, I saw this article about some cryptocurrency called 'Bitcoin'. I remember it was the dumbest thing I ever read (mostly because I didn't get it and I thought it was completely irrelevant to me, as I was only a freshman in high school). The idea of digitalizing the financial institution just seemed so unnecessary and abstract. I laughed at the proposal of referring to nerds behind a computer as 'miners'.
But then December of 2017 came along and I felt like shit. Who would've thought that BTC would make a climb of over 671% in just a fucking year? It was all tumbling down on me. Around this time, I was wondering: "What the fuck am I doing with my life?" I know it's a bit overdramatic since I'm only a Sophomore in college, but at the same time, I couldn't help but think if only...
I really hate waking up in the morning. It's always so hard. I hate structure and living in that kind of box. I ruminated the idea of having to conform to a 9 to 5 job, but I know it's probably gonna happen. I mean, it could be worse for me. I'm not too dumb. My grades are actually pretty decent. But that idea alone, specifically, of the much-dreaded future. I don't if that's for me.
So I see this Bitcoin craze as somewhat of an opportunity, but more importantly, as a motivational force. I want to actually work and save up money. I know it seems kind of silly, but I think I would be spending more money than saving without this prospect: the prospect of making it big with little to nothing.
And I know what you're thinking. I know what most people say: "It's not a fast way to make money. There is no -easy- way. Do your research before betting on the markets" and I certainly agree. But I also think this theme is ubiquitous with all beginner traders, such as myself. I mean, who wouldn't want to strike it rich? It's what got us here in the first place.
I'm not saying that everyone should go in balls deep without any consideration of the risk, but I'm also not saying you shouldn't take it. I mean, I took it. I'm just advocating for those who are more experienced in this trade to not look down on us newcomers. We know we have our faults, but in order to make this thing work, we need to work together.
We should work together; that is, to better educate one another in this rising industry for the sake of getting everyone on board and staying on board.
All keen investors know that your investments ain't worth shit if no one is using them.

Sort:  
Loading...

I felt the same way when I got into crypto and blockchain. I never realized its potential until I actually sat down and educated myself about it. We all need to come together and support and educate each other about this promising technology and not let so much greed take over. "Will I make enough for a Lambo in a couple of weeks?" is not the way we should be viewing this revolution.